We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of Quality set in the gorgeous resort of Whitby”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hotel of Quality set in the gorgeous resort of Whitby”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I stayed at the Marine for two nights and everything was excellent. The room was well equipped, comfortable and clean. Nice views although I think room one has the best views.
The hotel has been decorated to a high standard and adds a little class within the homely Victorian resort.
Service was friendly and excellent.
Breakfast menu choice was also very good.
I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    98
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
379
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay here. The staff and restaurant in the lobby area were both great. The views from our room were exceptional . Everything is within walking distance. Our room had a loft as well as a small but quant balcony. If you need a place to stay in Whitby, I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muzzlepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We've booked into room 5, above the Moon and Sixpence. So, so brilliant. The staff were very
accommodating. I asked for an extra bed in our room for our daughter. Staff were so friendly on the phone, despite it being a busy time of day. The staff member was helpful and warm. Great start.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowCCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in Room Two - which has the added benefits of a separate sitting room and a small private balcony. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. No parking but you can stop long enough to unload/load luggage. The staff were very helpful about this and also supplied a four day parking scratchcard so that we could repark the car a couple of streets away.Wonderful food and impeccable service - see separate restaurant review. The seagulls and fishermen were noisier than any of the other hotel residents or staff but staying harbour side - what else would you expect? The sitting room was big enough for me to indulge in my morning Tai Chi - enhanced by the sea air and a wonderful quality of light coming off the water. We had an excellent stay in Whitby and would definitely go back - to the Marine Hotel and to Room Two.

Room Tip: Room Two - No bath but a huge walk-in shower. The separate sitting room is ideal if one of you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1421Chiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After spending the whole day with my youngest daughter at robin hoods bay and whitby it became a little too late to drive home, luckily The Marine hotel had availability. at first i thought it was rather pricey even at a reduced rate, but on inspection of our room, i realised why it was that price, the room was like a beautiful tastefully decorated french boudoir, we felt like princesses ! The the facilities food and service were faultless. We had a lovely meal (very generous portions) in the restaurant :-) My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her bath in a very illaberate bathroom ! staff couldn't do enough for us, when bringing room service they even brought me paracetamols as i had a headache. Can't wait to return with my partener as the rooms are rather romantic ;-) perfect location with views over the harbour !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrsboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel 5/6/14 after my husband booked it as a surprise. We stayed in room 4 very very nice in every way. Open plan with gorgeous bathroom and deep deep bath, attention to detail spot on. Had meal in the restaurant on the evening fabulous seafood pasta best I have tasted in a long time. Very nice breakfast the next morning with lots of choice Can not wait to return , had not been to Whitby for many years but it did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very nice however, maybe not a good choice if you or your guest not comfortable with each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DurhamCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location and superb food and drink.
Excellent room . Agree re need for tea and coffee making facilities in room, not too difficult to implement and would make such a difference as would a suitable door between bedroom and bathroom in room 4!
Highly recommended despite this!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing