We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I have always wanted to visit Whitby. I booked into the Marine Hotel for 2 nights. It was superb, the staff all attentive and had plenty of time for us. The food was also great. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: Room 1 was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    98
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
379
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just returned from a 2-night stay at The Marine and would highly recommend it. In a perfect spot on the harbour side, close to the swing bridge and facing the church and 199 steps.

We stayed in Room 2 - very unusual with a 'lounge' area, complete with comfy sofas, TV etc and a bedroom up a flight of wooden stairs on a mezzanine floor. Magnificent views all round, with a small balcony to sit outside (weather permitting of course!).

Breakfasts are lovely - deliciously cooked fresh to order and highly recommended. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was equally delicious and fresh. There was a jazz duo playing on the evening we ate - nice music, not too loud to scupper conversation, very pleasant all round.

However, the best thing at this hotel is undoubtedly the staff. Everyone is so warm and friendly and helpful and the service is really good. Special thanks to Jasmine, who was so lovely to us.

A few (very) minor grumbles - no tea/coffee facilities in the room. In normal hours this was not a problem at all, as a phone call downstairs resulted in a lovely fresh pot of tea delivered to our door almost instantaneously. However, as early risers, we'd have liked to have been able to make ourselves a cuppa when we woke at 6am, rather than having to wait until available by room service at 8am.

The balcony is small, but fine for a couple, and with a beautiful view, however there is a noisy air conditioning unit next to it, which somewhat spoils the effect of the peaceful harbour.

And I found the bedroom floor covering very uncomfortable to walk on in bare feet!

However none of these things really detracted from what was a very lovely stay! Would definitely love to stay here again!

Note that there is no car parking at the hotel - understandable given the location - but you can unload your bags if required and a free pass is given for on-street parking in a zone which is a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

When we arrived we unloaded our luggage and then given a parking voucher in order to park a short walk away. The restaurant was buzzing and the whole atmosphere was lively and friendly. Our room (no. 2) was amazing with the bedroom upstairs, leaving the downstairs to the bathroom and sitting room with a magnificent view of the docks, abbey, etc. etc. We felt we could have stayed for longer to enjoy the bright cosy room, view and walks. Wonderful staff. There was a pianist playing in the restaurant in the evening and the restaurant was fully booked. I had the most delicious sea bass and my husband the lemon sole. Our local neighbours on the next table said it was the best fish restaurant in Whitby. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We only saw rooms 1 and 2 but both had amazing views, plus a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Silverhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this fab hotel in the best location in Whitby! We stayed in room 4 and it was gorgeous! Great views, comfy bed, beautiful decor. We thought the open plan loo could have done with a curtain or swapping places with the sink as the view from the bed of people sat on the loo was interesting to say the least :) We had fish and chips downstairs which was perfect and the breakfast and choices were amazing and tasty. Filled us up all day! Staff very polite, friendly and professional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A very special birthday in a Hotel booked by our daughter, just fantastic location in the Harbour with fantastic views in all directions, newly refurbed it has beautiful rooms and a very pleasant bar and dining area. Great menu with fantastic service and very helpful friendly staff.
No parking but an unloading area for your booking in and parking only 5 minutes away at £6.00 for 24 hours. It's understandable given the location of the Hotel.
One of the best in the centre of Whitby with everything so near, even the famous Magpie restaurant is only a one minute walk away, we will be back and can recommend as really great.

Room Tip: Room number 2 just fantastic, little balcony, mid floor bedroom, spacious room with mega views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frazer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from overnight break in Marine Hotel on the waterfront in Whitby. What a find! Badly needed a break after a bereavement and other stresses, and the minute we walked into Room 2, with its spacious lounge overlooking the water, its upstairs to fabulous mezzanine bedroom ditto, and outside to its tiny private balcony - this was heaven indeed. Was disappointed at first that no tea/coffee making facilkities, but this is no problem really, as you ring down and it arrives by room service in 2 minutes. Also with wine if you request it! Then you can sit on the balcony and people/boat watch...We chose not to eat in the popular restaurant as it was very busy with a jazz pianist, but enjoyed immensely one of the HALF DOZEN vegetarian choices on the fabulous breakfast menu. The food was out of this world for breakfast. Will definitely go again. I have only put 4 stars for sleep quality as we were awoken several times in the night by the fishing boats loading up outside - but this didn't bother me - it was a beautifully relaxing type of noise...

Room Tip: ROOM 2 was superb. ROOM1 I believe is smaller but has a much much larger balcony with French window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CornwallSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Best hotel in Whitby! Perfect location for Whitby Harbor and all the festivities! My wife and I and our 12-year old daughter have been living in the UK for over 4 1/2 years and we spent two nights here (7-8 Apr). At first not having on-site parking was troublesome, but then we figured out how to pay for long-term parking via cellular and the rest of our trip was great. Parking was only ~4-5 min walk from hotel.

Upon arrival, a nice young woman greeted us at the entrance and immediately checked to see if our room was ready since we arrived ~1 hr before advertised check-in time. Our room was ready and we were shown to our room, handed the key and that was it, our holiday in Whitby had officially started. We actually liked having registered our info with the hotel when we made the reservation and didn't have to sign anything and all charges while at the hotel were placed onto our bill. No matter what time of day we had drinks, food, etc., the wait staff seemed to know what room number we were in and voila, excellent service followed. We stayed in Room #2, originally, we saw on TA that Room #1 was highly-rated and likely the best room, but we were not dissatisfied at all. Room 2 was amazing with a separate bedroom on the mezzanine floor and little private balcony which was more than enough for my wife and I. Our daughter had the option of a roll-away bed, but chose to sleep on one of the two couches in the sitting area. Brilliantly designed rooms for a family. Bathroom and shower area was amazing as well. The owners have put a lot of thought and attention to detail in all areas of the room. It's easy to tell the owners and staff take pride in their hotel as the morning we left, the outside of the hotel was being freshly re-painted.

Special Thanks to Everyone at The Marine Hotel!

Room Tip: Review the pictures and speak with hotel staff about which room will best suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing