We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic overnight break in superb hotel in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic overnight break in superb hotel in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from overnight break in Marine Hotel on the waterfront in Whitby. What a find! Badly needed a break after a bereavement and other stresses, and the minute we walked into Room 2, with its spacious lounge overlooking the water, its upstairs to fabulous mezzanine bedroom ditto, and outside to its tiny private balcony - this was heaven indeed. Was disappointed at first that no tea/coffee making facilkities, but this is no problem really, as you ring down and it arrives by room service in 2 minutes. Also with wine if you request it! Then you can sit on the balcony and people/boat watch...We chose not to eat in the popular restaurant as it was very busy with a jazz pianist, but enjoyed immensely one of the HALF DOZEN vegetarian choices on the fabulous breakfast menu. The food was out of this world for breakfast. Will definitely go again. I have only put 4 stars for sleep quality as we were awoken several times in the night by the fishing boats loading up outside - but this didn't bother me - it was a beautifully relaxing type of noise...

Room Tip: ROOM 2 was superb. ROOM1 I believe is smaller but has a much much larger balcony with French window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CornwallSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    89
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
359
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Best hotel in Whitby! Perfect location for Whitby Harbor and all the festivities! My wife and I and our 12-year old daughter have been living in the UK for over 4 1/2 years and we spent two nights here (7-8 Apr). At first not having on-site parking was troublesome, but then we figured out how to pay for long-term parking via cellular and the rest of our trip was great. Parking was only ~4-5 min walk from hotel.

Upon arrival, a nice young woman greeted us at the entrance and immediately checked to see if our room was ready since we arrived ~1 hr before advertised check-in time. Our room was ready and we were shown to our room, handed the key and that was it, our holiday in Whitby had officially started. We actually liked having registered our info with the hotel when we made the reservation and didn't have to sign anything and all charges while at the hotel were placed onto our bill. No matter what time of day we had drinks, food, etc., the wait staff seemed to know what room number we were in and voila, excellent service followed. We stayed in Room #2, originally, we saw on TA that Room #1 was highly-rated and likely the best room, but we were not dissatisfied at all. Room 2 was amazing with a separate bedroom on the mezzanine floor and little private balcony which was more than enough for my wife and I. Our daughter had the option of a roll-away bed, but chose to sleep on one of the two couches in the sitting area. Brilliantly designed rooms for a family. Bathroom and shower area was amazing as well. The owners have put a lot of thought and attention to detail in all areas of the room. It's easy to tell the owners and staff take pride in their hotel as the morning we left, the outside of the hotel was being freshly re-painted.

Special Thanks to Everyone at The Marine Hotel!

Room Tip: Review the pictures and speak with hotel staff about which room will best suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had a lovely evening and thoroughly enjoyed the meal , ambience ,staff service and location. Would really recommend a visit. Whitby fishing town is a great place to see with such a lot of character and the most amazing fish and chip restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacmel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the generally excellent reviews in Trip Advisor, we certainly weren't disappointed.

We stayed in Room 3 which with its big windows is the ideal place to people watch although as we were there over a Saturday night it became people hearing into the early hours of Sunday!

The breakfast menu contained some different items, although the full English was there I can recommend the Farmer's Salad, if you don't know what is it then you'll have to go and find out.

We ate in the hotel one night and again it was excellent, a very extensive seafood menu with just the right quantities.

There's no parking at the hotel but we were directed to free parking only five minutes walk away, as there so to see in Whitby you won't need your car anyway.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JAG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hello readers!

You may of read my review regarding our wedding stay 01/03/2013,well we returned 01/03/2014 and we were not disappointed. Again everything was fantastic, food, customer care, service and going the extra mile, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in room 4 this time and was pure luxury. Chloe and her team always go the extra mile to ensure you feel really so special, the example of this was our room being decorating with balloons and "Happy Anniversary" banners on arrival (which we sent in advance). I cant recommend enough the hotel and of course the restaurant - wow!! If you fancy breakfast, fish and chips (best in whitby), seafood I hope you have a big appetite ...as they are not shy with the portions!!! The best thing is you are not rushed and of course live entertainment while you dine, fab.

We knew the Marine was a gem when we booked our wedding meal and stay there in 2013, well we were equally if not more impressed on our return visit a year later 01/03/2014. We look forward to spending future wedding anniversarys here.........see you next year Chloe and thanks again for looking after us!!! Although with service this good, see you soon!!!

All our thanks again

Rachel and Simon.

Room Tip: Any room all are individually designed, pick any one you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Being a regular visitor to the restaurant, I've always wanted to stay overnight in one of their luxurious rooms but often was put off by the price ( as we live quite locally). We eventually booked a room on a whim and stayed in room 3. It was fabulous! Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had huge windows with breathtaking views! There was a large bath and powerful shower. You can request room service and they are happy to tend to your every need. We requested an ice bucket and pot of tea and they were literally sent up in about two minutes! Breakfast was delicious, you can choose to eat in your room or the restaurant. We ate downstairs and had so much to choose from. We both chose a full English which was cooked fresh to order and came with all the trimmings!
We also ate in the restaurant on the evening we stayed. The seafood was phenomenal! We had oysters, scallops, lobster and dessert and every dish was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious!

I would recommend staying here and I'm already looking for an excuse to go back to stay in room 1 (to experience the balcony) as it really was worth every penny!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my boyfriends birthday/valentines day and stayed in room 6. The room was beautiful and we couldn't understand why the price was so good when nearby places are charging similar prices for rooms that weren't as nice! The room was very clean and the facilities were lovely, including a jacuzzi bath in the room. Unfortunately we couldn't figure out how to turn on the jets in the bath, whether it was out of order or we just didn't know where the switch was, it didn't really matter and didn't affect our opinion of the room. We also ate here and had cocktails in the evening, the food was really good as were the cocktails, slightly higher than average price but it was justified by the quality, quality and the customer service. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and I loved that we were given an option and didn't have to have the full English. I chose smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was beautiful and again the portions were really good! We loved our stay and were gutted we couldn't book another night as it was already pre booked but we will definitely be going back and have recommended it to family and friends. Thanks!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank littleone04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing