We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We are at this place 3 days running, why ruin a good thing!
We were so impressed. The service is exceptional they couldn't do enough to help us but without overdoing it.
We had oysters, scallops and my husband had a seafood platter which he was most pleased with.
The seafood linguine was probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten. This place is fab I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carterishandsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 512 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just returned from a lovely 3-night stay at the Marine Hotel. The room (#2), views and food were really all excellent. The staff were all, without exception, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

As others have said the excellent food includes the widest and most interesting choice of cooked breakfast we have seen, all in ample quantities and great quality.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Myself and my oartner have just returned from the Marine Hotel and i am eager to write a review on here. From the moment we arrived we were treated to a warm, friendly atmosphere and the most welcoming of staff.
It is unfortunate that there is not a car park, but there was ample street parking close by and the staff always offered to help with the luggage.
We stayed in Room 3, which was beautifully decorated and clean, with ample room and views over the Harbour.
That evening, we ate in the resturant and very very impressed by the quality of the food (seafood platter with a whole lobster, washed down with a bottle of Bollinger). The breakfast was also very varied and different to most hotels I have stayed in, and ample in their portions.
Many, many compliments to the staff and the chef who made our break the most special and memorable time.
We were so reluctant to leave but will most certainley be returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckieedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The team are first class and extremely friendly. It's a great high quality bed and breakfast, with an excellent chef. The evening meals are equally good and the views of the harbour are first class! We had room 1, which is right on the corner with perfect views and a great balcony. The room is a little small compared to our friends room (room 2) which is significantly bigger, but didn't have such a great balcony.

The only issue is sleep quality. The beds are average and it is noisy in the evening till the early hours. If you are a light sleeper and you want a lie in, I would select another B&B or hotel.

Overall this place is very good and does come highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if your in room 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I hesitate to write about the Marine as I don't want everyone else to go there and spoil the place!!! It was fantastic. We were looked after brilliantly from the moment we arrived and departed, complete with help finding a car park and carrying our bags. Unfortunately we chose to arrive on the final day of the Whitby Regatta and the town was jammed. Despite that we had the perfect room overlooking everyone coming and going AND watching the harbour entrance traffic. The Marine is right next to a pub and with all that footfall you'd think it was noisy but it's not. The seagulls probably make more noise and apart from the low flying bird that dropped a fish by our table there was no issues at all! The breakfasts are to die for and we had fun working our way through the selection. No lunch needed after the huge amount. There are no kettles in the rooms but you can get complimentary tea and coffee in the bar area. This is a busy bar/brasserie so you do not get preference as a guest regarding tables - so do book. That wasn't an issue for us and the buzz was fun though the pianist on many nights is a trifle loud for our taste. Whitby is absolutely beautiful and whilst I'm sure we have rose coloured specs as it was fairly cloudless blue skies most of the time, for a short Brisitsh break at the Marine it was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anndrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at The Marine on bank holiday Monday. We stayed in room 4, which was absolutely beautiful. The attention to detail and the finish of the room were top class, it was also very spacious and had sea views from every window. A few of the other reviews have mentioned it being noisy early in the morning but we were not disturbed. My only criticism was I found the bed to be a bit hard, but my Husband found it very comfortable so I suppose it's just personal taste. There weren't any tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but when we checked in the staff explained that if we phoned the bar at any time they would bring complimentary hot drinks up to the room, or you could have them in the restaurant. We did not eat here but the restaurant did have a lovely feel to it, there was a grand piano and at weekends they have live music. We ate at Harry's bar a few doors down as I am not a big fan of seafood, we had tapas which was very enjoyable. The breakfast menu was extensive and high quality, you could either eat in your room (at no extra cost) or in the restaurant. I was a bit jealous when I spotted the couple in Room 1 eating their breakfast on their balcony as it was a lovely sunny morning. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning on our next trip to Whitby.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank littlemacUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are wondering where to stay in Whitby this is a must. The town was heaving with people and in many ways due to the situation of The Marine, staying here meant we were right in the middle of the madness and add to that a bank holiday weekend. Step inside The Marine and immediately you are in oasis of style ......and the staff are amazing. The ethos of this place should set an example to all hoteliers/restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff shine brighter than the lighthouse at the end of the pier. We were in Room 3 and we loved it, big comfy sofa to sink into and great views that let you 'people watch' from your bed! OK, it's a little noisy, so don't come for peace and quiet, but if you really want a piece of Whitby action, this place has it all. We ate in the restaurant, we hadn't booked because we hadn't realised the popularity of the place but they squeezed us in and the food was lovely. The breakfasts were amongst the best ever! If we go back to Whitby, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $133 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing