We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harbour and Abbey views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Harbour and Abbey views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hi

We stayed in Room 4, which has a huge bathroom (fine unless you need more privacy from your partner, no door!), where you can lie back, soak and gaze at the Abbey. From the bedroom window, you can watch the fishermen unload their catch, and see the harbour comings and goings. Fabulous food, beautiful room, great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    87
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
351
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a drink during our day trip to Whitby and couldn't believe it when we saw Prosecco on tap at the bar!!! Fabulous boutique bar which was buzzing and busy with a real air of luxury about it. Definitely worth an afternoon visit. Based on the number of people trying to book for dinner it's obviously a popular place in the evening too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manxgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the marine and married in Whitby on 01/03/2013, we also held our wedding reception there too. We firstly want to thank Chloe (Manageress) and the staff at the Marine for all their help and made our stay so special. We first dined in the Marine after our engagement last year and fell in love the Marine, the staff and the gorgeous food!!! We contacted the Marine late last year and were greeted with a friendly, helpful Chloe. Chloe's confidence and warm personality only confirmed that we had made the right choice for our wedding. We traveled to Whitby at the end of January 2013 and we met Chloe who was brilliant, with her motto being "nothing is too much trouble, you are here to enjoy our wedding and I am here to ensure it all runs smoothly". We were impressed with her professionalism, kind assurances and confidence. We arrived the day before with parents and everyone was escorted to their rooms. WOW the room are all individually designed and you will not be disappointed with any of the 4 rooms you select. We opted for room 1 which has the balcony and enclosed conservatory with the most amazing views of the harbor. We thought we had chosen well however, after seeing rooms 2 and 3 our parents room and a sneaky peek at room 4 they are all amazing. Chloe and the team were happy to let us decorate our room, provided anything we asked for, laid the table with decorations for the evening, provided reliable taxi firm to take us to our wedding location, the best service and had a really caring attitude. Also on the evening there was a piano player "Jonnie" who amazing researched the internet for our first dance song!!! What service talk about going the extra mile. We will be returning and would urge anyone who wants a stress free, 5* star service to either dine or stay at the Marine. I would also recommend their fish and chips is the best we have tasted and the staff provide a fantastic service. Also is the sister hotel the moon and sixpence its well worth a visit and great food offers.
Once again a huge thanks to Chloe and the team for an amazing weekend, one we will hold very dear, with such great memories. Absolutely 5*
Thanks Rachel and Simon

Room Tip: Any of the 4 rooms all great. Rooms 1 and 2 have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of skye
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here in room 4 on Valentine eve , spotlessly clean, ideal location with lovely views over the Abbey from the bath, beware no door on the bathroom which might put you off! also no tea making facilities so you would have to wait until 8 am for a cuppa not a problem for me but my other half is a early riser and loves his coffee, but would definatley stay again, having stayed various places in Whitby this was my favourite a bargin at £100! oh and a lovely cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: Dont pick 4 if you want a bathroom door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahIsleofskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay in Whitby about 3 to 4 times a year on business and always try to stay at The Marine. Everything is great about this place the rooms are fantastic, the food is awesome especially the Fish Pie although every dish I have tried has been top class.
The location being right on the harbour tops it all off and in the morning the breakfast choice and quality matches the restaurant
The only downside of this place is the price is quite high in the Summer but I would disagree with a few reviews saying it is expensive as you do have to pay for quality and that is what you get at The Marine

Room Tip: From my experience all rooms are very good. My only tip would be to ensure you book a table for dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My teen-age daughter and I were travelling through northern England with my mother and happened upon the Marine where we stopped for coffee and to use the wifi. The staff were lovely and we were delighted that they had a double room available for us for the night, and added a fold-away bed for Mum. The room was lovely and overlooked Whitby Abbey, the bathroom was gorgeous and our breakfast was delicious, hot and well served! I would love to stay at the Marine again on our next visit to Whitby! Thanks to the staff for such a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in room 2! Loved it! The room was very clean! And loved the deco you also have great views of whitby fron the room. We also had a meal witch was very nice with great service! Staff were very frendly and couldnt do enough for you! Breakfast was very nice to! Will defo be returning! X

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing