We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serine Marine - room 4”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Serine Marine - room 4”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had room 4 on Sunday 25th and Monday 26th November 2012.

Service was excellent, very helpful staff.

Room was presented to an excellent standard, very clean and well kept with no chipped paint or surfaces. Was relatively quiet from road noise but you could hear the pianist tinkling the ivories downstairs - lovely for us since we couldn't join in.

The bathroom was lovely and perfectly proportioned, despite being open plan from the bedroom and not having a shower.

No tea/ coffee facilities in the room but room service is available.

Harbour view from the bathroom was lovely, very atmospheric. You can see the fish market from the bedroom which is also nice as you see the boats come in to dock there.

Really powerful central heating to take the edge off windswept occupants.

Food was wonderful, we had breakfast both days and dinner on the monday - lobster thermador and seafood linguine - both really enjoyable.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Could hear the piano and odd boy racer in room 4, also no door on the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxibillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    89
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
359
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Marine Hotel, room 1. Other rooms may have been better.

The web site and telephone sales talk looks great but the reality is different.

Bathroom is in the room not en-suite.
Noise from adjacent rooms and waste pipes is intrusive
Doors to balcony could not be locked or in one case opened.
Could not close wardrobe door which kept swinging open.
Door to room has a huge gap between it, is not fire rated and could not be locked.
Fire escape instructions do not exist.

We raised our concerns but were told there was not a problem by arrogant staff. We wrote to the hotel but did not receive a response.

Dinner was good but breakfast very average.

We stay in many hotels on weekend breaks, this was poor and very expensive for what was delivered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbrownsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Will keep this short and sweet.
Have previously stayed elsewhere in Whitby, gorgeous northern fishing town, and struggled to find a room to suit this time around.
After trawling our minds for somewhere that stood out from our last time mooching around, we remembered the Moon and Sixpence. A bit of googling and reviewing later we found their sister Boutique BnB The Marine had a room to our liking within our budget. We booked online and a quick phone call to confirm and we were on our way (all very last minute).
From the minute we walked in the door (The wrong door as it was at the moon and sixpence) we were escorted to our correct residence and our bags taken by willing staff.
This is where this establishment excels, attentive, polite staff and a welcoming akin to long lost friends rather than over zealous hotel staff.
The room, the bar, the toilets are/were spotless!
The food is/was fantastic and not over priced!
If you are looking for a relaxed, home from home experience with excellent service and sumptuous rooms, fresh seafood and excellent breakfasts then look no further.
The Marine is THE place to stay in Whitby.

We would really like to add that all the staff Kim, Phil and even Mark in the Kitchen are incredible and are a real credit to an already winning team.
We will definitely be staying here again and would urge anyone else too!
Room 4 is amazing!!!!

Rick and Sue

Room Tip: Room 4 stand alone bath and sumptuous opulent decor, overlooking Harbour and the Old Whitby includin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick5Spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We love Whitby, but have never actually stayed in the town, so we decided to have a weekend away, and booked The Marine. It is located right on the harbour and is small and very intimate. The staff are good, attentive, and it it obviously used by locals and passers-by as it has only four rooms on the property (although it has a sister property about fourty yards back towards the bridge, but still overlooking the harbour).

The food was outstanding - we went for the seafood. Loster Thermidor excellent, fried oysters fabulous, and I have to say that the scallops were the best I had ever eaten!!

Room 3 is a good size with a large bed, a harbour view and an interesting bathroom. Good quality room amenities, and room service if required.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. To cap it all, the weather was beautiful for the whole weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food in this seafood restaurant is excellent and having eaten there many times I was finally tempted to take advantage of the accommodation. Staying with friends I booked two rooms, both were very, very good and slightly quirky, a pleasant change from usual norm of modern hotels.

Despite being rather too close to the amusement arcades and a few seedy or touristy pubs the hotel has excellent views across the harbour and it is easy to relax in your own little haven of comfort. The staff are very friendly and seem to have time for everyone despite the restaurant being at times quite busy, especially on music nights. But the atmosphere and general ambience is something I look forward to experiencing again.

Despite its faded Victorian glory Whitby still has a lot to offer and although The Marine Hotel looks nothing from the outside it is definitely worth a visit......, such a shame that the town is giving way to the cloned city pub mentality with the opening of a very large Wetherspoons, let us hope this not the start of its decline, it is nice to go somewhere different that is not dominated by the multi-national corporations that make everywhere look the same as they take over our high streets.

Room Tip: Room 4, although being spacious, has an open plan bathroom and bedroom (i.e. no door on the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAtWarmsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent only one night (sadly!) and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Marine. We had room four -- a delightful French provincial themed room on the second floor. Had it not been for the fog and the rain, we would have had lovely views. But we were warm and very comfortable inside! Dinner was in the restaurant, fish pie and fish and chips. Both were excellent. Breakfast the next morning was a treat too: husband enjoyed the rarebit, and I chose the unusual farmer's salad. The menu says it comes topped with a poached egg, and I nearly asked them to substitute a fried egg, as poached eggs are often watery disasters. I'm glad I didn't. The poached egg was absolutely perfectly done, which speaks to the skill of the chef. Something that stood out for us was the friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff: clearly, this is a very well-run and managed hotel. We'd love to return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vizslam0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at The Marine for a relaxing couple of days which we certainly got. Room 2 was perfect to chill out in as the weather was not so good and it had excellent views across the harbour. Had breakfast delivered to the room both mornings by friendly staff and it was lovely. Location is excellent with everything on your doorstep. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 2 very comfortable with a separate lounge area and small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing