We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury that won't break the bank!”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury that won't break the bank!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I've now stayed at The Marine twice, once was in their sister hotel The Moon and Sixpence, both experiences were fantastic.
The rooms are finished to a high standard and I love that each room has it's own style.
Our first stay was in The Marine in Room 4, the modern Gothic styled room. It was clean and very comfortable. Very spacious. The harbour can be seen from one of the windows.
The en-suite bathroom was modern and clean. The bath is large enough for two and the shower isn't wimpy! It doesn't have a door, but that was ok with us.
The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere and all the staff are very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and unhurried.
Our second stay was for two nights in The Moon and Sixpence in room 5. The room was large with a plush carpet and contemporary decor. The en-suite bathroom is behind a frosted glass wall. It's big and warm with a double - powerful - shower. The bed was clean and comfortable. The built in wardrobe was spacious and held the usual items (iron, hair dryer etc.) Best of all, the jacuzzi was clean! It is a novelty, to me, to have a jacuzzi in a corner of the room, and it's lovely to just have the lights around the jacuzzi in the evening.
For our second stay we had dinner in The Marine and the food was perfect, well priced for what you received and prepared with obvious care and attention.
Breakfast with The Moon and Sixpence was also delicious.
I can't wait to stay with them again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    95
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
369
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Marine in July and had the room with the balcony overlooking the harbour.
The staff were great and the room was very comfortable . The layout was unusual but worked really well. The view from the sitting area was wonderful and we enjoyed a bottle of reasonably priced wine on the outside terrace in glorious sunshine.
Breakfast was delicious and again good service. We were shown the other three bedrooms which were all decorated differently and a bit querky- great fun place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platemates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just spent a glorious weekend in Whitby , made extra special because we were staying at the splendid Marine hotel , right on the harbour ................. We pre-booked room 4 and were not disappointed .This was a treat to me from my husband after a short spell in hospital and it was everything we imagined and more . To be eating breakfast to the strains of an exquisitely played piano is quite charming . I have to admit I was unsure at first but you quickly relax to a quiet atmosphere which sets you upperfectly , in a serene mood , for the many walks up and down the hills of Whitby .We enjoyed three different pianists whilst staying there , during different parts of the day and the guy from Darlington at breakfast was particularly good both in choice of music and his engaging manner with all the guests . We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and the food was excellent ( the seafood was excellent and the Duck my husband had was cooked to perfection) we also got chatting toquite a few locals who eat there regularly which is always a good sign. The service and attention to detail is second to none and as we had to wait 15 mins longer for our table a free drink for myself and my husband arrived without prompting from us . a nice touch and worthy of the best service centric organisations who put their customer first . I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as i,m confident that if you find something , not quite to your liking or in need of attention they will put it right first time and well ...... you cannot ask for more than that . this hotel is now on our list of favourite spots and is the best advertisement Whitby can get ......we will be back

Room Tip: We loved Room 4 but it has a connecting bathroom with no door so be sure you are happy to share your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnredman879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed in room 2 which was fantastic. Had the bed on a mezzanine level which really made it feel like a suite and there were fantastic views from the windows. Also had a small balcony with table and 2 chairs, lots of flowers and 2 pigs (ornamental of course). The door to the balcony made a world of difference and seemed to make the space so much larger - although the area was already quite large. There was also a separate entrance to the rooms which meant that you didn't need to go through the bar/restaurant each time. Ate in the Marine restaurant on the second night and the food was really good (as was the breakfasts) - all in all a brilliant place to stay and if we ever returned to Whitby we would certainly book to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great but loved the balcony in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had stayed at the Marine hotel in November last year and found it very nice but this visit was just to the restaurant which was excellent. The great thing about the hotel and restaurant is the buzz and relaxed atmosphere as well as the friendly staff. The food is first class but without the wow factor. A great place which I would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just returned from another stay at The Marine Hotel in Whitby. We have now stayed 4 times and have also taken family and friends. We would never stay anywhere else in Whitby now. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you. Particularly Chloe, many thanks. Food is also great. Can't wait to stay again. See you next year (or sooner if we can get away)!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljlcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st andrews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this small hotel. However, there are a few minor criticisms which I hope will be received by the hotel as constructive and if implemented could make the rooms not just adequate but excellent:-

We stayed in Rm 2:

The style and views of the room are excellent although some of the furnishings are looking a little tired and stained, espically the sofa which had a few stains.

The bed was very lumpy and the pillows were of poor quality.

The bathroom did not have any shelves so if you want to use the shaver plug you are unable to as there is nowhere to stand the shaver whilst it is plugged in. There are no hooks anywhere and apart from the heated towel rail which can only hold 1 towel there is no other towel rail to hang your towels.

The mirror in the bedroom is very small and cannot be tilted so you find yourself stooping over to dry your hair and put your make up on.

The hotel food is excellent and the choice and quality of the breakfast far exceeded any other hotel breakfast we have had.

All in all considering the rate of £150 pn I think I would choose not to return to this hotel on my next visit to Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing