We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal with wonderful staff.”

Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal with wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I ate at Harry's last night for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was devine. My husband picked 3 of the smaller portions, his favourite being the ribs and tai beef, I picked the pork medallions with sweet & sour sauce from the specials menu. It truly was delicious, best meal we had eaten in Whitby. For desert we decided to share the chocolate brownie with white chocolate icecream, it was so good that we ordered another!! Not only was the food great but the service was also, all the staff were extremely friendly, polite & accommodating. I take my hat off to all the chefs also who were clearly very busy preparing and cooking delicious food. The atmosphere was also great and I highly recommend this resturant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carleymawhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    271
    59
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Called for lunch, on a Saturday in March. Four of us in total. We only required a light lunch I chose the pear and smoked mackerel salad, delicious. It gradually became quite busy, the staff were very cheerful and helpful, would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best birthday dinner for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Harry's offers a useful 'small portions' menu so you can eat as little or as much as you like. Not everybody likes massive meals so this is a perfect choice. It meant I could have three courses without feeling over faced.

The chowder was wonderful. The coquille st jacques was rich, but I still had room to indulge in the incredible sharing dessert platter. Add in a cocktail or two and it couldn't have been better.

(We visited four times in a week for food or drinks, so it MUST have been good!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorningAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Harry's serves very tasty food, great cocktails and the staff are very friendly/chatty. As we had already eaten a large meal in the day, we only wanted something small in the evening. We decided to try three of the fishy starters which were absolutely delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Went with a small party of five last Thursday. I had previously been for a drink but never for a meal.

What a delight from start to finish. The young gentleman who served us was great as was the food. All in all an extremely enjoyable visit and will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing