We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had never been here on our previous visits to Whitby - bad mistake! The food was superb, service pleasant and the view over the harbour good. We were recommended to come here by friends who had enjoyed their meal and we can thoroughly recommend it. We shared a large seafood platter between us - no starter needed but, sadly, no room left for dessert. We'll be back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    287
    63
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still great!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We first visited this restaurant 4 years ago and as we were making a return visit we thought we'd see if it was still as enjoyable. We had scallops and black pudding to start with. The scallops were lovely and perfectly cooked but I did feel the portion was a bit small - and I' not a big eater!
We followed with lobster which was perfect and then had 4 of their small puddings between the 2 of us.. The whole meal was delicious.
Three courses,a bottle of wine, coffee and an ameretto came to £85. The atmosphere was lively and friendly and the staff were very attentive. Glad to find that it was still as good as four years ago!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggiejane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The chowder us amazing!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Found staff very helpful and approachable. Menu was intriguing and tapas idea really worked for us . Wine was food standard. Fish dishes amazing but some of the meat dishes were really out of this world. So good we went back for a meal on our last night

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moocookiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inatentive”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

You're lucky to get a table at this pricey, slightly pretentious place, so you would think they'd rush to clear them. My table was full of old glasses, the wide open door let in the smell of cigarettes and even though I looked at the menu for some time, I was not asked if I wanted to order food. The drinks were very expensive and this place had no views, so I think they need to earn their way a bit harder.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RocketUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“yum!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were staying in what ended up being 2 of the 3 very beautifully furnished rooms attached to the bar, and so decided to stay for dinner, which did not disappoint. The staff during our whole stay were exceptionally friend helpful and accommodating.

The service excellent, food excellent, atmosphere excellent! It was a bit rowdy over the regatta weekend, but I was armed with earplugs!

Thank you Harrys... we had a great stay xx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karanh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing