We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is spotless”

Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“this place is spotless”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

first this place is spotless inside and out i walk past with me dogs most days when in whitbyand see the cleaning in action
only by chance the wife nipped to the loo found they did breakfast menu
why they dont show it outside is beyond me as thought only did tea coffee on mornings
i choose eggs benidict wife a bacon butty1st class good quality butchers bacon used on each very nice too loved the service young lady looked after the dogs with a treat as well thank you will now try the evening menu

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 17stonearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    287
    63
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We went on a Tuesday evening so easily got a table. Food, service and surroundings were all excellent. We thought the idea of being able to sample several small portions as either starters or main courses was excellent both in terms of variety and being able to match the amount to appetite.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go! The most delicious food I've had in a long time!"”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The food here was absolutely delicious! There are two menus - a taster-style menu of medium-sized plates and a standard menu - this was explained when we arrived but really, it's not rocket surgery and to all those reviewers who slated Harry's for this - there's a chippy next door. We went for the tapas-y option and had 6 plates (plus bread) between two of us (the plates are around £6-£7 each) and a bottle of wine (£14). I cannot quite express what good value this was - the food was exceptional, the range of options was perfect (plenty to choose from, lots of veggie options, but not overwhelming) and it was all served promptly by friendly (and, importantly, cheerful!) staff who really cared about our dining experience. We were hooked immediately so checked into a room and proceeded to order every dessert (which you can get as a taster - 6 desserts for £13, perfect to share between two... alternatively, go for the crumble. It's AMAZING) and every cocktail (except the champagne ones. Go for the Gin Bramble. It's DIVINE).
We also had breakfast the next day, served in the room - scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (proper smoked salmon, in chunks), which was, predictably (by now) amazing. We ended up staying another night.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sflinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Latte's”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stopped by to get out of the rain.
Excellent latte's and friendly service

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheafpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service,good atmosphere - what more to say”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We have eaten several times here and never been disappointed - the clever menu is ideal for those with both small (me) and large (husband) appetites as the small munu portions mean I can have 3 courses and the changing blackboard menu of 'mains' are ideal for him! The steaks on the stone are wonderful and the selection of puds delicious

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing