We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, good food.”
Review of Netherby House

Netherby House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Netherby House
Ranked #105 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good food.”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here last weekend as a family of 4 and it was really a lovely hotel, nicely decorated, very welcoming & beautiful gardens; the view from the bottom is well worth a look. You can sit in the summer house on a sunny eve, very relaxing! We had an evening meal, it was quiet & menu limited but the food was lovely. Comfy beds & good breakfast next morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accrington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I would advise caution when dealing with this hotel.

The tariff they quoted over the phone was different to the one we received on the written confirmation.
Prior to our arrival they made an unauortherised transaction on my wife's debit card.
The only male member of staff we encounted was far from welcoming.
Although the rooms were clean and well furnished the shower cubical door in our room fell apart as I opened it. Reporting the fault didn't seem to surprise anyone.
They over charged us on our bar bill.
The `award winning ' breakfast that they seem so proud over was no different to any other that we've had at a bed and breakfast hotel. Boxed cereal to begin with followed by an adverage fry up. Nothing wrong with that but `award winning'!! I don't think so.

Room Tip: When you book ask if you are in the main part of the hotel or the annex, as the latter isn't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searcher111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Room and hotel was lovely. Pillows were uncomfortable, and price of meals and drinks were quite expensive. Service was attentive and friendly, other than when leaving when they were slow. Rooms were dated but comfortable. For the money i was happy. Meals were nice and beautifully presented however i think they were trying to be a higher star than what they are and were therefore charging more than i would normally expect to pay. i would stay again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_ot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

What a lovely family run hotel. I felt comfortable from the minute I checked in. The staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the summer house at the end of the garden overlooking the Esk valley watching the steam train.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lincspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Delighted that we booked this B&B. We booked two rooms at Netherby House for one night (a single in the main house and a king sized room, located at the end of an annexe). The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. Each room had a nice little welcome tray with cookies, with a decent assortment of beverages. The hosts were extremely welcoming and more than accommodating to do anything further should you need it. There is also a nice little bar area, lounge and conservatory which were all very comfortable and smart. Breakfast whilst having only a very short window (8:30am - 9:30am - wish this had been longer) was very nice. The house has a good sized car park at the rear which flows into a garden with stunning views over the neighbouring countryside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed there while visiting friends who live in the town where it’s located (Sleights) and was very pleased. The owners were very accommodating. Because of it’s location it seems that the town’s residents and Netherby’s guests don’t encounter many Americans in their town. There were times when passing through the public rooms I felt like I was a novelty for the other guests, but perhaps that was only my imagination along with the lack of time actually spent in the facility (I was off touring every day) taking the opportunity to engage in conversation. Upon returning one evening, a gentleman behind the bar in the small lounge commented, “You must be the American.”
Don’t miss out on taking a walk in the garden area behind the house and a wonderful view of the fields. The home has an interesting history (it used to be a doctor’s home) and its history is described in a guest book found in each room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMouseFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Just had a second visit to this hotel with my friend and stayed in Littlebeck room which was spacious, immaculate,every thing so clean and fresh. Quallty furnishing and fittings. Lynn and Barry and their excellent staff cater for your every need. The food must be the best in Whitby! They use all local fish,meat and vegetables and local bakers. So much choice, they cater for all dietery needs to a very high standard. Beautiful garden and views over the Esk Valley. Good bus service intoWhitby. Give this hotel a try and you will not be disappointed. One word of warning don't go to this hotel if you are on a diet!

  • Liked — Everything !!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teriosbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.6 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#140 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cross Butts Hotel
Cross Butts Hotel
#66 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#37 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#143 of 151 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherby House

Property: Netherby House
Address: 90 Coach Road | Sleights, Whitby YO22 5EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Netherby House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Netherby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing