We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Accomodation
Ranked #98 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

what a great find. service was excellent from booking to check out. we were sent a text on the day to tell us about a gas leak that would affect our route to the hotel. We were just a short walk from the town and the harbour. As we we were a party on motorcycles they understood the importance of covered parking which is what we had. the accommodations itself was outstanding it was such a pity we were only there for one night. it was spacious warm and clean. all our party said they would like to come back for a longer time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrightyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stopped here overnight, so can't give a long term review. However, although the property is spread about a bit, once we got our bikes parked up in the off road garage and walked to our respective apartments we were very pleasantly surprised.
This was an apartment, not a hotel room. Has a living room, kitchen and bathroom, to go with the bedroom.
Bathroom was excellent with a great shower. Very clean and I cannot fault the room.
Breakfast is a bit of a walk away, the rooms aren't in the same building as the restaurant, but you'll understand when you see Whitby, it's older than my Mum.
Basically I would highly recommend this place, especially if you're staying for more than a couple of days.
We got an overnight deal where we paid the going rate for a hotel room and got an apartment, happy days.
If you're happy with the price you've been quoted then stay here you'll not be disappointed (I hope).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DJH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

have a great weekend here. been to Whitby many times and can honestly say this is the best place we have stayed. Apartment very warm and cosy, breakfast great, staff friendly.
Will be back later this year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a find. great accommodation in the perfect location. We booked for 3 nights via booking.com and got a special deal mid week. Our apartment was warm, clean and large. Good size bedroom, lounge, kitchen and shower room. The property was modern with a 32 inch flat screen tv. We booked breakfast which was served quickly and was of excellent quality. The lady manager was very helpful and friendly and gave some good tips on places to eat and drink. Compared to a normal B n B Discovery offers excellent value with all the extra space and facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Returned to Discovery having not visited the area for a while. They have maintained / improved the accommodation since our last visit. Knowing the area we opted for parking on the street which was close by. We enjoyed a hearty full breakfast each morning which was enough to keep you going to evening time, 2 rashers of good bacon, spicy sausage, toms, bean, fried bread and fried egg served with toast and tea. We do like the fact that breakfast is a leisurely affair from 8.30 to 10 not rushing about in the morning. The staff were nice and pleasant and helpful with suggestions. Room was clean and fresh and spacious. The location is perfect set on a quite street yet in the heart of town, walking distance to all restaurants and pubs. As previous guests we got a good deal making the stay excellent value. Well done Discovery keep up the good work. FT

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a wonderful time and brilliant weather for the beginning of March. Whitby is wonderful this was my first visit. Booked Discovery through Booking,com.
Good Points:...
Apartment lovely and warm on arrival and never took long to warm up, very spacious, very clean, friendly staff.
Parking was no problem, all free nearby on road in bays. Would imagine much harder in the summer, There is a long stay pay and display car park 2minsaway, I think is was £4 for 24hrs or something near to this. Breakfast was very nice but no choices which didn't bother us at all and it was all good quality. Apartment kitchen had everything you would need.( we didn't cook!).
Not so good points for information only as it didn't spoil it for us.
Bed and furniture pretty uncomfortable, curtains in our bedroom let in all the light from the lit up exterior stairway, we hung up a makeshift blackout using our towels!!
Sand apartment is on the first floor accessed by an metal exterior staircase and landing, which is also used by smokers. We were lucky as it didn't disturb us at all, but I can imagine in peak season it could be a bit noisy with people coming and going with the main bedroom window being directly next to this landing and staircase!!
Just note there are many different apartments and cottages in different areas which we didn't see. We didn't bother with the pool either.
If we stayed here again we would try and get a top floor apartment just in case!!
Would stay here again it is very central for everything, but don't try and eat out after 9pm in March everything shuts even the chippys!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyann126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013. We struggled to find the apartments initially and were confused over the parking (which was a public car park which was approx 100 yards from the apartments- long enough with a young family in tow). We were not able to unload the car any nearer to the apartments. On our arrival, we were advised that our room was on the 2nd floor. We got to the lift to find it out of order. We then had to traipse 2 babies, a double pram and all our belongings up 2 flights of stairs. My husband spoke to the owner who said that it was at least 2 weeks from being repaired. We then asked them to consider moving us should a lower room become available. We got to our room to find it comfortable, modern and fairly clean. The apartments were not child friendly in the slightest from glass tables to there only being one high chair at breakfast despite it being quiet. Also, the people above us had a late night party and we could hear every converstaion and music which kept us all awake until the small hours. I text the management who asked them to keep quite which they did- for about 10 minutes! Also, the bathroom radiator had electrics exposed. We were offered to move to the ground floor on our second day to a fantastic apartment which was clean and very large, although the heater didn't work.
The breakfast was mediocre and we were left hungry afterwards. The pool was cold and not very entertaining. We wouldn't return. It was over priced due to the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#5 of 53 in Whitby
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#115 of 152 in Whitby
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $66 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing