We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #108 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booking was very easy. We had Room 2, on 1st floor overlooking side garden/front. It was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable. Exterior of building was well maintained, sparkling clean windows. The room had everything you need, apart from a hairdryer (which could be provided on request). The owners were very nice and helpful. The dining room was well presented. You had a table allocated to you, which was nice. Breakfast was excellent, there was a breakfast menu including cereals, fresh fruit, toast and the best full english breakfast we've had, not at all greasy. A car parking space was available at the back of the hotel which was great (you have to go through the estate at the back to get there but its no problem). The hotel is on a main road but we were not bothered with noise at all, and opposite the lovely Pannett Park. Whitby harbour is just a short walk down the road. It was a very reasonable price and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed at the grove for two nights, was very nice b&b. Angela was friendly and welcoming, breakfast was very nice, cereals, fruit and a full english. Rooms very clean, bathroom spotless. Location very central 5mins from harbour and shops. Added bonus own car park at rear of property. Would stay again...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the last eight years, rooms always clean, great service, very helpful and friendly, you could not ask for more

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulMHeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Greatbplace to stay when we work in Whitby, The owners bend over backwards to make sure your looked after even when we were getting up at silly times to work on the swing bridge at low tide.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlecTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location to the centre of Whitby, Car parking available. Lovely owners. Great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Good location, about 5 minute walk into centre of whitby. Room excellent, comfy and cosy and good hot shower. Owners very helpful and welcoming and provide excellent breakfast. Room very clean. Overall couldn't fault anything and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dobby68Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here as a stop on a drive around the UK and it was one of the highlights. We booked on the day and the owners were very accommodating, e.g. by meeting us on the road to show us how to get to the car park (tucked away behind the hotel). The B&B was exactly what we needed, a nice short stroll into town and with a great full English breakfast in the morning. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank von-balthazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
5.2 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 155 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: 36 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $90 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing