We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hailwood House

Hailwood House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hailwood House
Ranked #102 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Riccall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time we have stayed at this B&B and we'll be back. Very clean, comfy bed, everything room looks like its been freshly decorated. We stayed in the downstairs room and it's large, comforable, with a sofa, a large flat panel TV and excellent shower facilities. Clearly no expense has been spared in the decoration or furnishing, (unlike other places where they put in cheap furniture and applicances!) The TV guide in the room was a thoughtful touch. We had scrambled eggs with salmon for breakfast - on toast- and it was delicious and large portions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor is large and has a sofa. Great for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Second time we have stopped here at new year and it proved the first times high standard wasn't a fluke. Despite a small problem which alternate provions were made by Brian, a wonderful place to stay Will definitely be stopping there again and this year picked up enough business cards to hand to friends and family

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leepilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I highly recommed this Hotel, everything was excellent. I stayed in the disabled room which was perfect for my neds as I'm a wheelchair user. Brian took me into breakfast, and back to my room, just amazing service.

Room Tip: Disabled Room one of the best I've stayed in. The hotel was just marvellous. Brian & Maria w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieseldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Immaculately clean , well presented, comfy bed, great shower. Very good breakfast nicely cooked. Wheelchair friendly we did not want to go home. Lovely hosts, helpful with parking. Nice crisp linen for breakfast. Lovely options. Delightful stay. Will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavillero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

After several years' gap since our last visit to Whitby and Hailwood House, we had another lovely short visit there this summer and still wholeheartedly recommend it. Super rooms, parking outside, good location and super friendly people running it - they really look after you! Ground floor disabled room available. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdeCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked through Tourist Information at the last minute. Couldn't find anywhere online within budget or family friendly so this was a real find. Brian the owner was friendly and accommodating. Let me have his parking space which was appreciated. Also put us in room 1 which had plenty of room for our travel cot, pushchair etc. Nicely furnished and lots of room. Bathroom only had a shower, but very large. Location is central and 10 mins walk to the beach.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and cooked to order. Again Brian helped out with a chair for my son. We paid £60 per night for a large double which I consider excellent value in Whitby. There are only 4 rooms here so you may struggle to get in at peak times. Overall a real pleasure to stay here. When we come back to Whitby we will seek this place out again.

Room Tip: Room 1 if you have a baby and need extra room or have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovenz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stopped for two nights over the new year in room 4.

lovely clean guest house, fantatstic breakfasts served on hot plates.

Brilliant location and Brian & Marie couldn't have been more welcoming & helpful, Brian even moved his car so we could park and get back out again.

Will be booking gain for next year.

Thanks for a brilliant stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leepilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#144 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hailwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hailwood House

Property: Hailwood House
Address: 25A Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing