We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs some tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just got back from holiday with shearings, when we got our room we had yo ask to change because my boyfriend had a chest infection and the room we was in was opposite the rooms being refurbished, you were very good at accomodating us another room, the room was nice but the bathroom could do with an update, the majority of the hotel is nice just a few things need refurbishing, our waiter mate was very nice, but can I say that the chef needs to learn portion control the beans wasnt even a teaspoonful, the poached eggs were solid as a rock, and you cant say it was gammon it was ham, but the food was nice and warm, im only saying this because I have worked within the food industry, plus I was very unhappy by the workmen coming through the dinning room at dinner time with bits of carpet, paint, and other work things, not very hygenic, they should of been done before we sat down and ate, overall just a few things that you need to see to, but your staff were so helpful and friendly, and the entertainment was brill

Room Tip: If you need to m8ve just ask they will help you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see we were able to meet your request on arrival. I’ll look into your comments regarding the breakfasts and hope it didn’t deter from your enjoyment too much. The issue with the workmen has been dealt with and for this I can only apologise it certainly is not common practice. I will pass your comments onto all the staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent 5 days early November on a National Holiday "Turkey & Tinsel", which was a nice break Whitby is a lovely place and Scarborough as well, but remember its a bit Hilly......The Bay Royal that we stayed in was definitely in need of updating, the room we had booked was a sea view but was horrendous, the wallpaper was drab and in places coming off the wall, so we complained and updated to a premier room (costing an extra £131) but was worth it, the hotel itself needs a faceover, the snooker room had a hole in the ceiling directly over the table, and rain had got onto the blaize completely ruining it, a pint pot was sat on it collecting the water droplets all the time we were there.Nothing to complain about the food, it was adequate although our friends asked foe poached eggs and gammon and received a poached egg in the middle of the plate with a slice of ham.....he would have gone mental but we couldn't stop laughing . The entertainment was good but the bingo was a ripoff !/3 taken off to pay for books, £160 average every day, so expensive books.....would we go back a big NO

Room Tip: if you go there, get a refurbished room or a premier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are very much in the process of refurbishing a number of areas within the hotel with over 40 bedrooms having been done in the past 12 months alone and a number planned for early next year. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and I will pass your comments on to both the waiting staff and chefs.
We hope you will choose to stay at the Royal again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Four of us have just come back from a 3 day break at the Royal Hotel Whitby! While we have been to Whitby several times & always love our time there, this is the first time we have stayed at the Royal. Whilst public areas are quite nice, and the bedroom allocated to our friends, room 319 was also nice having been updated, ours, room 323 was rather a SHOCK as it was so shabby, depressing & in dire need of updating. There was damp on the walls, gaps in the window in the bedroom & being next door to the only lift we suffered a dreadful amount of noise as the outer metal door clanged onto a metal lip every time it was used & shut with an un holy BANG! It needs a " soft close" hinge & some rubber cushioning around the edge to lessen the impact! We suffered serious " sleep deprivation" through this damn door!

In the.bathroom the shower cubicle had black mould & was dirty, I was tempted to go out & buy a bottle of DOMESTOS for the use of! Instead I poured boiling water all round the shower before I dare use it!! Worse though was that the toilet was not anchored to the floor & wobbled precariously when sat on! ( this was fixed with an anchor screw when I complained but was starting to wobble again this morning so future occupants beware!). In reality this room was so sub standard it should never have been let & being as I booked both rooms they should have been of
EQUAL standard! Our friends felt awful for us getting a room so poorly furnished & inferior to theirs, but we gracefully said not to worry we would make the best of it!

On the plus side the bed was comfortable, the room was warm ( when we tucked the curtains in ) & the staff were friendly & the food was lovely.! MARION our waitress in the dining room was an
absolute star! The ballroom, bar & restaurant areas were very nice. We always have a good time
in Whitby so did not let the disappointment in our room spoil our 3 day break! I think Shearings need to seriously get their act together & " up the ante" with their room standards !

Room Tip: Always enquire if the room has been refurbished recently with this hotel as some have & some hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliaann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I’m sorry you were disappointed with certain areas of your stay. We are in the process of refurbishing a large number of bedrooms with 323 due early next year. Marion is indeed a star and I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your meals. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent a long weekend here and as it was a Shearing's Break I had my doubts about it being all that good. How wrong can you be. The room was large and clean with coffee/tea making facilities. The view was out to sea and Captain Cooks statue. The staff were most helpful and the dinning room staff fantastic. The meals were wide in choice. Well presented and tasted very good. My wife is a vegetarian and there was always a dish on the menu. The entertainment was not up to much but we did not go there for that. The hotel is situated on the cliff above Whitby and it is a hard walk down and back to the town but the Tour Bus stops outside the hotel and for £4 you can get on and off all day on its tour around all the sites of Whitby. Would recommend this hotel to any one for a pleasant break.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GEOFFREY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your 5* review. I’m pleased to see we ticked the box throughout. I will pass your comments onto all the team, feedback like this is always well received. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Food great staff superb hotel as nice as you could expect for the monies our room was fine seperate heating for showers would be good as hot water does not last long, the room however was large and clean..
The entertainment was first class and the compare superb but............................... the bingo was odd to say the least a total of £240 was taken in confirmed by the compare but monies paid out only £160 so a third was taken for ticket printing and "gaming licence" on checking on the internet it appears that if prize moniesare less than £400 no licence is required, if you know different please put me right

Room Tip: Room 339 was fine sea view and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lennyamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Many thanks for the 5* review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments onto all the team and especially Steve – he is a great character. There is a cost to running Bingo as there is with everything. £2 for every book sold is put directly into the winners pot and the remaining £1 is for the books and contributes to the machine licences etc. Hope this clears up any confusion.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

recently had 5 lovely days staying at the bay hotel with shearings we had a sea view room which was very nice the staff were very friendly and the food was very good this is the second time we have stayed there and would go back again love whitby

Room Tip: always uipgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojo1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. It’s always great to welcome returning guests and it would appear we ticked all the boxes on both visits. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic location and it has been recently been updated, but facilities were disappointing. No toiletries, other than a small bar of soap in the bathroom. When we turned on bathroom light we thought an alarm was set off, it was just a very noisy fan. Coffee was provided but no tea. Pillows, though new were uncomfortable and no other choice, bed was also new and comfortable. No Wi-Fi.
Rooms were very clean but corridor doors need a good clean, very grubby.
Food - DREADFUL. Breakfast was acceptable but disappointing- boil in the bag kippers in Whitby! Evening meal was inedible, cold, overcooked, I have never had such shocking food. Soup was packet soup.
Beware of room 114 if you need an early night. The entertainment sounded as if it was in our bathroom.
Staff were pleasant and helpful, but wont sty here again.
Oh still a bucket on the snooker table catching the drips

Room Tip: As far away as possible from the bad entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinahB01422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. As you have said, we are very much in the middle of refurbishing a number of areas throughout the building. As stated in the bedroom browser we have toiletries available FOC from reception at any time. We have had WI-FI available in the public areas which does reach a number of bedrooms also since Saturday 2nd November. I will pass your comments regarding the meals to the chef, although it is very unusual to receive comments of this nature.
We hope you will chose to stay in another Bay hotel in the future if not here.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $102 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing