We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitby The Royal Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our Stay On Friday 22nd February For 2 nites B/B Was Fabulous. Staff Very Helpfull And Cheerfull.Room Was Fab , Two Big Windows With View Of Abbey , Beach , Attractions , Pier. Room Was Big And Spotless. Breakfast Was Absolutley Spot On , Waitress Service Was Very Efficient. We Wii Definatley Be Staying Again. Great Whitby Weekend. Me And My Hubby,

Room Tip: Facing Abbey And Pier. Great Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your very favourable review. The wonderful views we enjoy and the fantastic team of staff we have really do help to make your holiday. The hotel is in a superb location with all of Whitby’s attractions within easy Reach. We look forward to your return visit.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay. Food and service were really good. Great choice of items in the menu, friendly, helpful waiter, nothing too much trouble.
Will definitely book again with this company.
Self-Drive Coach holiday is such good value, with the advantage of having our own car and not having to pack everything into one case !

Room Tip: Top floor with sea view - veiws of the harbour and no-one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrannySpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I’m pleased you found no faults with the food and service we provide. Our self drive holidays are very popular especially with so much to do and see locally. We hope to see you again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited this hotel 15/02/2013. The location is perfect, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was clean but needs upgrading, which is ongoing at the moment. Food was good, and at a reasonable price. The hotel is situated at the top of hill, and the town is a short walk down the hill. If you don't fancy the walk back up the hill you can always get a taxi.There are lots of pubs and eating places within walking distance. The hotel has 2 lifts, but only 1 was working when we were there.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview and single beds, as you get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony5998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review. I appreciate your comments on the staff and I will pass these onto the team. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and found the hotel cleanliness to be of a high standard. Whitby as you say is a fantastic location with plenty to see and do. Your comments on the lift did confuse me slightly as we only have one lift within the hotel which has not been out of service recently. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated beautiful views and a short walk into town but if you have difficulty walking there is a bus every hour. The hotel is in much need of refurbishment throughout. Breakfast you had a good choice but I felt the quality,choice and presentation of the evening meal could be much improved. The staff in the dining room and bars were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in a standard room (not recommended ) furniture well used beds uncomfortable no wifi or sky television in hotel. One of our friends room had mould on the ceiling and wall I cannot comment on the upgraded rooms but would suggest if going to the hotel you book one of the better Rooms. Choose lower floor as lift only holds 4 people and you may have quite a wait.

Room Tip: Ask to have a good look at the room before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmithyHaydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your views. The hotel is indeed in an ideal location with a regular bus service. I’m sorry to see certain aspects of your stay didn’t meet your expectations. Refurbishing areas of the hotel is very much an ongoing process which we are fully committed to with a number of rooms having just been completed and plans in place for more next month. Our menus are planned to offer something for everyone’s tastes and I’m disappointed this was not the case in your experience. It is pleasing to see your comments on the staff and I will ensure these are passed onto all concerned. We hope you would consider staying at the Royal or another Bay hotel in the future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned from a Shearings coach holiday,the hotel is like most of shearings hotels old and grand.The staff were excellent the food really good and the entertainment was also very good.The only problem was the shower we only had 2 hot showers whilst we were there the rest were lukewarm.We complained 3 times but nothing was done,the heating in the room was lovely and warm and clean so we thought the shower should have been okay.
Whitby itself is lovely lots of old pubs and cafes,there is an old abbey ruin which is at the top of 199 steps,or a long walk around the road,the views are great.First time to Whitby and will return

Room Tip: Our room was 314 so try to avoid it because of the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the issues you experienced with the shower and I will investigate as to the cause. As you say Whitby is a lovely little town with lots to see and do. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to Whitby.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed for a long weekend at The Royal. This hotel is on top of the cliffs overlooking the bay and village. We had a large room with a magnificent view. The room was warm,clean and had tea making facilities. The bed was not very comfortable as the mattress seemed very soft. The shower was powerful however it was in the bath and had a shower curtain which kept getting stuck to you. The food and service was excellent and the drinks were not too expensive. The entertainment on Friday was a guy called Steve who was a very good all round entertainer. The rest of the time we stayed in the lounge so did not see the entertainment. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DENISE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As is mentioned so many times on here, we are very fortunate to enjoy the stunning views that we do. I will pass your comments onto all the staff involved – comments like these are always very well appreciated. Steve is indeed a great all rounder and is very popular. I’m sorry to see you found the bed a little uncomfortable – as I am sure you will agree this is very much a matter of personal preference, however we are in the process of replacing a number of beds. We look forward to welcoming both you and others on your recommendation back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

had the same room again 208 upgrade. heater in room controlled by guest, warm or cool up to you. plenty of hot water, beds comfortable. good views of harbour etc. all staff friendly, espc in dining and bar areas very helpful at reception also, food very good various choices of starts. mains. and desserts. food was hotter and seemed to be larger portions this time. took advantage of the offer of 40% off a holiday in march by booking direct from the royal. many thanks to you all at the royal

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Our superior rooms are very popular and I’m pleased to see you were very comfortable in room 208. Our menus were re-vamped towards the end of last year and it’s great to see you noticed the improvements. The team will be delighted to see your kind words on their efforts. As a company we run a number of special offers throughout the year so keep an eye out for those. We hope to see you again soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $102 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing