We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old hotel in a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Oh dear....it must be hard to please everyone! My wife and I have just returned from a Shearings 5-day break at The Royal Hotel in Whitby. We booked via a local travel agent and paid a bit more for a room with a sea view.
We had an enjoyable and comfortable coach trip from London up to Whitby and arrived early evening but, with time to have a quick freshen up before going for our evening meal.

We (and all our fellow coach passengers, approx 35 in total) were checked into The Royal very quickly, politely and professionally and, directed to our rooms. We stayed in Room 337 on the third floor. The room was spacious, very clean and had a good sea view. The en-suite bathroom was also very spacious and, very clean.

Basically, we are happy to say that we DID have a good time at The Royal despite seeing a few "cosmetic" problems. Come on people, this is a Victorian listed building and is a hotel i.e a business and probably open at least 9 months of the year.

Based on today's prices, I would imagine it would need approx £1.3M spending on it to address all the "wear and tear" and overall maintenance problems that have developed over the years and who has got that sort of money to spare whoever the owners might be??

Ok, the internal and external decorations are shabby in places but, doesn't this just add to the character of this lovely old hotel. The main staircase is wonderful. Funny that, no-one else has praised it!

The lift? Yes, The Royal only has one lift but, structurally, there is nowhere else in the building to physically install another one. The lift was fully functional during our stay. Most days, we used the stairs (we need the exercise!) but when we occassionally used the lift, it was never a problem.

The staff at The Royal were very nice to us particularly the dining room staff. All our meals were served quickly and all our meals were served hot. We read some of these reviews after we had booked our holiday and were a bit worried about the meals before we arrived at the hotel but we are pleased to say it really does appear to be a case of some people being a bit too fussy and maybe too critical?

Our only negative comment and we are sorry to have to mention this but it relates to the mattresses on the beds in our room. We found them to be "very tired" and in need of replacing. They were quite uncomfortable to sleep on, the springs were very active but we chose not to complain about them as we did not imagine that the Managenent could really change them just for us. We were only staying 4 nights so it wasn't really a major problem, just a case of "putting up with it".

"Mark" our coach driver and tour guide was a mine of information and, a credit to Shearings.
Also, the entertainment at The Royal was good and varied and the Ballroom was a very nice place to spend an evening. Having said that, we only went in the Ballroom on our last evening but we were so glad we did as we saw a very good comedian (Dave Ferry?) who had us in fits of laughter.

We would happily book another stay at this lovely hotel (hopefully in Room 337 again) providing the mattresses were renewed. The views and walks around Whitby were fabulous and the delicious cooked breakfasts served at The Royal set us up nicely everyday.

Our best wishes to everyone at The Royal and thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richardson165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickiglen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

What a pleasure to receive your very fair review. We appreciate that people’s expectations can vary greatly and as a team we work very hard to offer comfortable/clean accommodation and an enjoyable holiday experience. The Royal is indeed an old building full of character and the refurbishment/upgrading of areas throughout is a continual project. I am pleased to see your concerns about the food were not met and agree that the team in the restaurant are a great bunch – nothing is too much trouble for them.
Again, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

After many visits to this hotel where parking was free, prior to our last stay we received a letter advising of a charge of £5.00 per day to park. the hotel has a small hard standing car park and a larger gravel one. The charge relates to the hard standing park only however this was not specified in the letter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank leedsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

I appreciate the comments that you made. It would seem the changes in car parking was not communicated correctly. It is only the small tarmac car park directly at the back door which is now chargeable guaranteed parking whilst the overflow car park is still free of charge.
I apologise for any confusion caused.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have just enjoyed an 8-day stay at this Hotel - Whitby is an amazing place, very interesting and atmospheric with the Abbey ruins, quaint old streets, harbour, lots of small independant shops and of course the famous fish and chips, plus the museums, parks and cliffs etc.

The Royal Hotel was obviously very grand in its day (the billiards room is still very impressive with its frescoes and columns) but it is now a rather old building and, as such, has its problems. A great deal of money would need to spent on it for full restoration but it really does need a bit of TLC - the window frames in our room were very rotten for example.

Generally the whole place could do with a spring clean - the paintwork was very marked in the hallways, especially the doors - plus some refurbishment as the whole place comes over as a bit 'care-worn'. However, the staff are very helpful - our room was cold and a heater was provided immediately for example - plus our waitress in the dining-room (Emma Louise) was delightful - always cheerful and she looked after us really well.

The food dramatically improved after the first two days - they either had a different chef or were trying out a different menu - but the portion sizes, the choices and also the taste of the food was better from the Monday onwards.

Our room was a trifle shabby but spacious. The bathroom basin was cracked and the bath marked with age but the water was hot and the over-bath shower worked well.

The entertainment was good with excellent visiting cabaret acts on three evenings and the resident host with his quizzes and bingo on the other evenings (apart from Sundays). This Hotel has quite a good dance floor but this is rather under used with only a little dancing (sequence & ballroom plus an occasional line dance) at the very start of the evening - before the bingo.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, mainly for its prime position and the wonderful views. We booked at a reduced price and considered our holiday to be very good value for money but, like an earlier reviewer, I would have been a trifle disappointed in the standard of the hotel if I had paid the originally advertised full price. However, it does seem that the food is improving and, the staff certainly do their best to make everything run smoothly.

Room Tip: The lift is tiny and gets very busy so, if you don't cope well with stairs, ask for ground or fi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As is mentioned so many times, Whitby is a fantastic town with lots to offer.
The hotel is indeed a grand old building. We are continually upgrading/renewing areas of the interior and this is very much an ongoing project. Whilst I understand your comments with regards to paintwork etc I hope you found the standards of cleanliness high.
It’s great to see the staff so highly commented on and especially Emma who’s only been with us a few weeks. As you noticed we have just introduced new menus and it’s great to see this noticed. The entertainment is planned to offer something for everyone and Darren (our host) along with our visiting cabarets work very hard to ensure a variety of entertainment throughout the week.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

a lovely hotel but not looked after. chairs in bar/lounge are threadbare and filthy dirty. plastic tape in lots of places to keep worn carpet together. scuffs everywhere in corridors. grouting going black in bathroom, otherwise a lovely bedroom with beautiful seaviews. beware if you are lookingout of back with views of carpark. our room was 230. it has some beautiful views ove whitby and could nt be placed in better location. the staff were very friendly and helpful.. one thing more the meals are very poor and bland. we ventured out one evening to eat

Room Tip: ask for front of hotel as back looks out on carpark
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. The upkeep of the building is a continual project and one which we are very much committed to – in fact we are awaiting a delivery of chairs for the lounge bar at the moment. I apologise for the issues you have raised with your bathroom and meals and have discussed these with both our maintenance man and chef. The views from the sea view bedrooms are stunning and well worth the extra cost and I am pleased you were comfortable in your room.
We hope you choose to spend another break with us again soon.
Vicki glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Love this hotel so much we go at least three times a year. Staff are so friendly you are made very welcome. A perfect base for exploring whitby and north Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaynepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

What a pleasure to receive your comments. It is great to see so many returning guests throughout the year. We have a great team here at the Royal and it is rewarding for all to see this so highly commented on.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Hotels location was without doubt outstanding, with a real sea view. The staff were polite and very helpfull. The twin room that my daughter and I had was spacious and and clean. However, the place is in a desperate need for decoration. The communinal areas were good although the seating in the bar area was threadbare. The hallways were covered in scuff marks, the room had bare patches on the ceiling and the walls. If everything was updated and decorated the price would not of been so bad to bare. Such a shame

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J0hn_walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. The hotel itself couldn’t be in a better spot with the stunning views. We have a fantastic team here at the Royal. I’m pleased you found the hotel comfortable and clean as we try very hard to maintain standards. I appreciate the points you raised regarding some on the public areas and this is a continual project.
We hope you would choose to stay with us again.
Vicki Glen
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Part of the Shearings group this hotel needs a lot of money spent on it, but the rooms are good size, beds are comfortable. The food is adverage and hot, for breakfast the choice is large with a smaller choice for dinner. The staff are what makes this hotel, from the chambermaids, to the restaurant manageress who can't do enough for her customers and her excellant staff. 8 days coach tour staying at the Royal for £299, if I'd paid full price £549 I would have been upset.

Room Tip: Sea rooms and up grade will make a diffrence
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheapo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post you views. I’m pleased to see you were comfortable during your stay. The menus are planned to offer something for everyone with a choice of 4 or 5 options at every meal. I couldn’t agree more with your comments regarding the staff, I have a great team here with Marion running a very tight ship in the restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the near future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $106 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing