We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacrest Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seacrest Guesthouse
Ranked #38 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a lovely guesthouse, we booked in with our dogs and although the dog friendly room wasn't available we were still given a room and a very nice one at that. Breakfast was lovely, good choices, tasty coffee! Location doesn't get much better, short walk to town and the beach. We went before September 30 so some of the beach is closed to dogs but this wasn't a problem as there is still plenty of beach left. If you want a guesthouse in Whitby where dogs are welcome, owners are friendly, food is good and location is perfect then go to Seacrest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsJooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    46
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
157
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited Whitby for one night last week together with an elderly couple of relatives. They had room 3, which had a fantastic view of the Abbey. We stayed in the top room, which was small but clean and comfortable. The full English breakfast was delicious with plenty of food and there was a good choice of other alternatives. Alison was very welcoming and helpful with info on the locality (the local bus stops just outside). The stairs up to the rooms are quite steep and could be difficult if you were not fit and able-bodied, which luckily we were. Highly recommended and hopefully we will be able to visit again.

Room Tip: The seagulls are noisy (Alison informed us in advance) and you might need to keep the window closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the loft room. It's small but we didn't mind because we only paid £52 for the double room. Excellent value.

The room was clean. The mattress was very comfortable. The shower was powerful. Oh, the soap dispenser was good. No messy bottles lying around. We were very impressed.

... and the quality breakfast too.

Very done and thank you, Alison and Andy.

We shall visit again in the future.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steppingfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

On arrival I received a friendly welcome from the owners. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. Modern TV and sofa and armchair too. Good hospitality tray and even bathroom extras provided. Cotton wool, shampoo and conditioner.
The breakfast was excellent and would rival any other hotel. A most enjoyable stay which I hope to repeat when next in Whitby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just spent the last 2 days at this guest house. The hosts were lovely and very amenable. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast lived up to all its reviews as being fabulous. Not far to walk into the town centre for an evening out. As we have a shi Tzu dog, it can be troublesome trying to find accommodation to take dogs and lucky for us Seacrest accepted dogs. Will definitely stay at this guest house when in Whitby again. Thank you very much to Andy and Alison the hosts with the most.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room as we had a 12 year old with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jowalker1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just had a really great break in Whitby. Seacrest Guest house was conveniently located, superb service and scored highly in respect of accommodation, breakfast, service, location and facilities. Highly recommended and we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabbar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igorwhitby, Owner at Seacrest Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
lovely respectful family who enjoyed our hospitalty and we enjoyed their stay. always nice to witness people havin a good time. come back soon. thanks for positve review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've just returned from a 4 night stay at the Seacrest hotel. We were in the top room with the dog. This room was described on booking as 'compact but cosy.' It was clean and comfortable, and space wise more than adequate. The bed was so comfortable. We know there have been a number of complaints about the size of the room, but to be honest don't understand this. In our opinion you go away to be out and about as much as possible, not to be sat in your room. If you want to do that, why not stay at home? The hosts made us feel so welcome (including the dog), and couldn't do enough to help us. The couple with us had a very spacious room. We all agreed the breakfast at the Seacrest would take some beating. Delicious quality food, served with a smile. What more could you ask for? We'd definitely return to the Seacrest, and as someone who spent 46 years in Whitby, would have no hesitation in recommending it. It's also in a perfect location. Thank you so much for a lovely stay and warm welcome. See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igorwhitby, Owner at Seacrest Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
thank you for your lovely review. Again the compact room is not as small as some have previously mentioned, I do think the problems are not with the size of the room but with some people themselves (remember size is not everything ha ha). The guests who stayed here with a dog were very friendly and wanted to enjoy Whitby and our hospitality, which we always welcome. Happy you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#61 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#28 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Guesthouse

Property: Seacrest Guesthouse
Address: 10 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacrest Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Seacrest Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Guesthouse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing