We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seacrest Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little place!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Arrived 31st Oct for a wedding that night. Alison was very welcoming and polite and Andy offered to help us find somewhere to park- which was a nice touch, since the roads surrounding Seacrest are bumper to bumper with cars!
We had room 3 which was nicely compact and adequate for a short stay. The room was contemporary and homely, shower was powerful and included were some toiletries amongst cotton wool pads and buds.
We had a lovely view out toward the Abbey, and were only a 2 minute walk to the seafront, and a further 5 mins to the town centre shops and pubs.
Breakfast was lovely, one of the best cooked ones we've had in a hotel/B&B for a while. Full English with choice of several cereals and fresh fruit/yogurts/juices and toast, tea and coffee. Just wish it wasn't served at 8:30 after our wedding attendance haha (our own fault!)
Overall, a lovely, personal B&B which we were told by Alison, is still being renovated! We didn't notice anything in poor repair however!
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandDanHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    46
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
158
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good location, 5 minute walk to harbour, good choice at breakfast in comfortable surroundings.
Bed comfortable and clean.
Friendly proprietors Allison and Andy.
Negative note, we were in top room which was very cold (radiator only on for short period on morning) and had tiny bathroom.
Previous review refers to broken wardrobe which is still broken! Also shower handle broken making showering difficult to say the least!
Couldnt check in until 2.30pm and had to leave 10am.

Room Tip: Not top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitten010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igorwhitby, Owner at Seacrest Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bedroom furniture is due to arrive this week after waiting for 6 weeks.appologies for that.radiators come on in mild weather @ 7am til 9am. Very sorry for minor issues but getting there with this room when it was damaged
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Andy and Allison are the perfect hosts. This was our second stay with them we came in July. We cannot fault the Guest House. The rooms are clean, we had bedroom 3 were you can see the Abbey. The breakfasts have a good range including vegetarian. We like it so much we have booked a week next year. Thank you Allison and Andy for our enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the back as you can see the Abbey like we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here last weekend booked for six friends really clean, very friendly, and great breakfast. We all said would come back again. Stayed in room 8 great views over the Abbey. Alison & Andy could'nt do enough for us.

Room Tip: Room 2 was a great family room. Room 8 great views to the Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollylollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The guesthouse has very good curb appeal, proprietors Andy and Allison very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Family rooms very proportionate and on suite.

Good range of Breakfasts and Guesthouse is a 5 minute walk from town center and local restaurants etc, would recommend and good value for money, good views of abbey from rear rooms.

Overall very good.

Room Tip: Rear room offer a good view of the Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

lovely and clean comfortable bed. Area was nice and quiet. Have a room that they allocate for dogs which was great only downfall was it was on the top floor but apart from that we could'nt fault it. have stayed in Whitby lots of times and would stay at the seacreat again as we can take our family dog with us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

we had a lovely couple of days in whitby,we stayed at the seacrest guesthouse which is basic but very clean,the bedding smelt beautifull,alison is very friendly and helpfull and we had the best breakfast cooked just how i like it,not a sign of any grease,would deffinatley go back again,we had a very relaxing couple of days,just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corra Lynn
Corra Lynn
#12 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Beaches Guest House
#108 of 151 in Whitby
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#23 of 151 in Whitby
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Guesthouse

Property: Seacrest Guesthouse
Address: 10 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacrest Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seacrest Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Guesthouse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing