We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation, we'll stay there again when holidaying in Whitby.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #70 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Carol made us welcome from the start with her friendly manner. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfy and breakfast was delicious. Although the Glendale is on a quiet street, it's only a five minute walk from the tourist centre of Whitby. We parked the car up {free of charge} and didn't need it until we checked out.

We would definitely stay in the Glendale Guest House if visiting Whitby again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Very clean, comfortable accommodation. Exceptional breakfast. great value fr money. Diane and John

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANE028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My partner and I stayed here recently with our small Yorkie dog for a 3 night stay. We were offered the option of two rooms and decided on the second room which was on the 2nd floor. We were told this room had good views of Whitby Abbey and a large comfortable bed. On both counts we weren't disappointed.
The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, plus it was very quiet room (although the window may be needed to be kept closed to keep out the noise from the sqawking seagulls) but all in all a very good nights rest was had.
Parking was ample by the roadside at the front of the B&B, and there was also limited parking at the rear of it.
Breakfast was very ample and tasty (perhaps the best I have tasted in a B&B)
Location also ideal for the town, and sea front as its only a short walk. However, a little hilly for people who may have disabilities with walking.
All in all a great location for a short stay, and we would certainly consider going there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Had a lovely time here. 5 minute walk from beach 10 from town. Very clean tidy and comfortable. Great breakfast lots of choice. Very friendly owners we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Lovely guesthouse run by lovely people! We had the twin (can also be used as a king) room at the top of the house. It's quite a climb up to the top of the house but the view of the Abbey from our window was well worth it! We also had both a bath and shower in the en suite. The breakfast was great, everything you'd want from a full English. The B&B is located a 5 minute walk to the centre of Whitby and 2 minutes from the beach so it is well located.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fontwell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Carol & Mick looked after our needs from start to finish, we had seen reviews for the breakfast, the reviews said great, we agree totally! The rooms are very clean, comfortable and the location was just outside of the centre, this meant that we could avoid the hustle and bustle but be on the beach or in the centre in 5 minutes.
We will be back and reccomend this to all ages!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPJLNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We booked a room at the Glendale Guest house for one night over the bank holiday weekend. We were pleased to find somewhere that would let us book a single night and the rates were very reasonable. We chose this guest house due to its good reviews on Trip Advisor. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the room was cosy and spotless. We could see the abbey from our room which was a bonus. The full English breakfast was delicious and kept me going all day. Having some parking space was useful as it can be very hard to find a space on the street. The centre of town is about a ten minute walk. We will certainly book again when we visit Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADYork_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#7 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
5.4 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#125 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 16 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing