We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guest House in Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melrose Guest House
Ranked #6 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guest House in Whitby”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Melrose Guest House for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having read plenty of positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we certainly weren't disappointed and it lived up to everything others have said. We were warmly welcomed by Joanne (the owner) and shown to our room (number 2), which was spacious, bright and airy and very clean. Each morning we had the English breakfast, along with cereal and toast, orange juice and tea/coffee. The breakfast was delicious, clearly using good quality ingredients which were cooked to perfection. Joanne served us each morning and was very friendly and helpful. The Melrose Guest House is located only about a 5-10 minute easy walk from the town of Whitby, where we ate out each evening. There was helpful information about local restaurants in the room, which was useful as we were first time visitors to Whitby. All in all we couldn't fault the Melrose Guest House. We'd happily stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
301
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester u,k
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights.Fantastic. Room was lovley,warm,very clean,good quality furnishings.Its also very nice to have a decent sized en-suite, and not something the size of a small cupboard.Great breakfast overall an excellent stay thanks joanne.We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stopped here last new year and have just stopped again.We have also booked for jan next year as b and bs go you cannot beat the melrose.The guest house is so clean the beds very comfy,the breakfast is very nice,The owners can not do enough for you.All five rooms are very nice and cannot wait till jan for a weekend away

Room Tip: all rooms nice just twin room has no seaview but the room its self is large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni1967_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just come back from a three night break in Whitby,having never stayed in Whitby before we chose the Melrose fom revues on Trip Advisor.We could not have made a better choice.Joanne (the owner with Chris) could not have made us more welcome,we didn`t meet Chris but his breakfast were first class.The room was spotless,bright&airy.The bed was very comfortable.We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

well, just got back from our weekend in whitby, once again stayed at the melrose and once again cannot find fault with joanne and chris, the room was spotless,the breakfast was to die for, once again ten out of ten

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our room, room 1 was amazingly comfortable, bright and airy. The view out to the sea was a lovely sight each morning. Joanne, the owner was wonderfully welcoming and strived to ensure the stay, and trip as a whole, was enjoyable.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

had yet another wonderful stay at the melrose in whitby,chris/joanne made us very welcome as soon as we got there joanne made us a cup of tea which was very welcoming, they cannot do enough for you, and the breakfast which is cooket my chris is excellent, the eggs are spot on. we had room 5 which is big and spacions and spotless, cannot wait to go back next year,well done chris/joanne. stuart/kath barnsley

Room Tip: room 5 is big and spacious, and is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#2 of 151 in Whitby
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 151 in Whitby
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Guest House

Property: Melrose Guest House
Address: 3 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Always book direct for best price** High standard of cleanliness and comfort, modern, spacious rooms - all en-suite. Choice of breakfast. Close to sea, shops, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Melrose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing