We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!”
Review of Red House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red House Farm
Ranked #17 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Reviewed March 7, 2010

What a wonderful bed and breakfast, excellent service by Tom and Sandra Spashett, nothing was too much trouble. A full english breakfast served with fresh produce and free range eggs! all cooked to our liking at a time to suit our plans for the day. The scenery from our room was stunning and a joy to wake upto on a cold february morning, our room being beautifully warm and cosy. We spent a good hour before setting out seeing the animals and listening to Toms amusing quips, we all had a good laugh. We will definitely be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at Red House Farm for a night whilst walking the Coast to Coast. Our overriding impression was that the owners were either too busy or too bored with the whole B&B routine to pay much attention to our needs.

Basically what we got for £100 was a comfortable bed in a lovely old house, in a beautiful location. It could have been so much better if the hosts had made a bit of an effort. We wouldn’t go back – nor would we recommend it to fellow walkers.

LIKED:
House
Location
Room

DISLIKED:
Waiting 45 minutes for room whilst owners went to the shops/made telelphone calls
Not being offered advice/directions on places to eat (the offer of a torch would have been handy for the return journey)
Noisy plumming
ill fitting shower fixtures
No offer of "packed breakfast"
Breakfast - rancid instant coffee (served in a pot!), processed orange juice, undercooked toast, soup spoons to eat cereal off and so on.
Husband's patronising attempts at humour.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFPNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This is a pleasant old farmhouse, from the 1700s, and our room’s décor reflected a care to fit in with the old-world charm of the place. We had a dormer window overlooking the pleasant garden and old barn. The deep bath and lots of hot water were very welcome after a long day’s walk. Our host welcomed us well with a cup-of-tea in the light and airy sun room. We enjoyed the way breakfast was served to all at a large old table in the main dining room. This helped us all to share our experiences of our time in England.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

THis is a 17th century stone farmhouse run as a B&B by Mr. & Mrs. Spashett. It is in the most amazingly beautiful countryside, perfect for leisurely walks!! The farmhouse has wonderful old ambiance and it was clean and appropriately decorated. This is a working farm. We had a delicious breakfast with fresh eggs. We agreed that this was the best place we stayed on our trip to the UK because it had wonderful character.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROLSeaGirtNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Joop018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
7.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#140 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
9 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
286 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Farm

Address: Red House Farm Glaisdale DALE | Entrance Opposite Glaisdale School Drive, Whitby YO21 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed Georgian farmhouse lovingly restored as a home for the Spashett family. Award-winning barn conversion into 3 self-catering holiday cottages. B&B accommodation in the main house. In the unspoiled valley of Glaisdale Dale in the North York Moors National Park. NEW: Red House Health Club with 18m heated indoor SWIMMING POOL (2 lanes wide), STEAM ROOM with aromatics, high tech GYM with Smart TVs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing