We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived in Whitby on the train at around midday, and Watty was waiting at the B&B for us when we got there (we walk at a medium pace and it took around 3 minutes to walk from the station to the hotel). He took us straight up to our room (Room 5, the small basic room), explained the system with locking the front door, and then left us to it. The room was small but cosy, and the bed is against the wall with the window, so only accessible from one side. This wasn't a problem for us though. The room is painted white and is light and airy, which gives it a nice, 'seasidey' feel. There is a wardrobe and a chest of drawers, as well as a bedside table, which gives a very good amount of storage space for anything you may have brought with you.

The biggest thing I should stress to potential guests is that the roof of Room 5 is sloping, and the beams come reasonably close to the foot of the bed. I am 5'8", but managed to conk myself on the head while getting too close to the chest of drawers. I'm not saying do not stay in this room, because it is a lovely place, but if you are anything over 5'10"ish, I would seriously evaluate how comfortable you are going to be.

The bathroom is also slightly on the small side, as it is an en suite built into the room, and I would say that anyone with restricted mobility or forms of claustrophobia may have issues in such a small space (we left the bathroom door slightly open while showering just to feel less closed in).

The owners are really lovely and helpful, and even though we decided not to have breakfast from the hotel (we're not really early morning people on holiday) they were flexible if we changed our minds the night before. If you are staying in Room 5 and do want breakfast, please note that because of the size of the room, it is the only one without a table and chairs inside, and the table and chairs are out on the landing. This might now be a problem for you, but during the busy season, you may find your breakfast disrupted by guests from the other two rooms on your floor coming or going.

Overall, the stay was very nice. The room has all of the necessary amenities (including a hair-dryer) and we were made to feel welcome and safe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for posting this lovely review and for describing our little budget room perfectly,
nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful town of Whitby. We look forward to seeing you both soon. Kindest Regards Michaela & Watty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 403 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed in budget room 5, Small but clean, comfortable with everything you need, and overlooking Pannet Park. We managed to book this room at the last minute due to a cancellation, and we were really pleased. It was a lovely sunny weekend and we were desperate to extend our visit to Whitby. We will be back but will make sure we book in advance.Close to all the local attractions and transport links it is the ideal base for visiting the area. Nice people, nice accommodation you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Nice to know you enjoyed your unexpected stay with us here at Rylstone Mere we are glad we could accomodate you to make your stay a little longer on what was a beautiful sunny weekend.
Hope to see you both again soon. Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous, sunny weekend in Whitby celebrating my birthday. We chose Rylstone Mere based on the Tripadvisor reviews and it lived up to all expectations. From the minute we arrived until we checked out we were made to feel very welcome by Watty and Michaela. We stayed in Room 2 which was a good size and spotlessly clean with the unexpected surprise of a four poster bed. It's very close to the centre of Whitby and has the added bonus of onsite parking. We loved that we could choose from the breakfast menu and have it delivered to our door each morning. We have nothing but praise for this gem of a B&B with its lovely owners and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Whitby. This will be our first choice of accommodation on our next visit.
Paul and Jennifer

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you Paul & Jennifer for the glowing review it is nice to hear you had a wonderful birthday here with us at Rylstone Mere in the lovely town of Whitby ( and what fantastic weather we had )
We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future just give us a call. Kindest Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fantastic hosts, clean and well-proportioned room, excellent breakfast, free onsite parking, perfect location. We stayed in budget Room 5, which is small, but ideal for our needs for having somewhere to sleep. Shall be my first choice when returning to Whitby, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor Room 8 is excellent. Top floor budget Room 5 perfectly ok just for sleep and a cuppa. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us here at Rylstone Mere always nice to get positive feedback from our guests makes our job worthwhile. Hope we will see you both again soon.
Regards Watty & Michaela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked this B&B at the last minute after been recommended by husbands work collegue and what a little gem, on arrivel of the Rylestone Mere we had the most lovely welcome from Watty and what a gentleman he carried my bags into the hotel and up to our room. We stayed in room 1 which was perfect. The room was large and spacious with a small onsuite which suited our needs. The hotel is room only with the advantage of booking breakfast the night before which I found very reasonable and to top it off delivered to your bedroom the next morning. You could not ask for anything more. The hotel is very central only 5 mins from the town. I would highly recommend the hotel and will be back in the future. Oh I nearly forgot the hotel provides free car parking which is a bonus as most hotels don't have parking facilities. Thanks Watty & Michaela for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vreay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thanks for the positive feedback guys glad you enjoyed your stay here in Whitby with all the wonderful bars and restaurants on offer. It will be nice to see you both again soon till then take care. Regards Michaela & Watty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at Rylstone for 2 nights in the standard double room. This room did exactly what we required - a small double that was comfortable as we didn't plan spending alot of time in the room so didn't want to spend too much. It had a shower room, whilst being small it was more than adequate. Breakfast was not included which suited us as we planned to eat out at the the Whitby cafes. The owners were very helpful giving us tips of which fish and chip restaurants to try and even advised us where to park for free once we had checked out.

We would certainly recommend this B&B to friends and family. Whilst the small double was adequate the other rooms looked alot bigger and we may consider one of these next time. It is ideally situated being very close to the town with the added bonus of off street parking.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floppsytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review nice to hear you enjoyed your stay although it was a brief one.
Maybe next time it will be longer, its good to know people appreciate the FREE PARKING as Whitby can be a bit of a nightmare to park. Hope to see you both again soon.
Regards Michaela & Watty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We always come to rylstone mere for goth weekend, we always book room 7. The room ijs always immaculate when we arrive and is always cleaned by watty and michaela when we come back from the town (which is about a 5 minute walk away) it also has a great view of pannet park. You will have to pay for the breakfast, but it is worth every penny! The food is always delicious, no matter what you order. Watty and micheala are always friendly and we often chat with them when they are around.

If you are going to stay at a b&b in whitby, stay at rylstone mere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZachChrisandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thanks guys for the great review, we are glad to hear you always enjoy your stay with us here at Rylstone Mere its always a pleasure to have you here, and we look forward to doing it all again in November. Till then have a good Summer hope the weather is kind.
Take care all Kindest Regards Michaela & Watty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rylstone Mere 30 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $69 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely late Victorian house with views over Pannet Park. Free off-street parking, 4 minute walk to town harbour, pubs, restaurants & all public transport. All rooms are en-suite with many original features & the usual tea, coffee, biscuits, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing