We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights over the Xmas period .The hotel is conveniently placed for the centre of Whitby and it is just a 5 minute into the Centre .The free parking is a bonus too . Rooms are clean and bright with tea and coffee making facilities .In hindsight I wished I had chosen a larger room.We booked the Standard room which in fairness was described on the booking as small, this wasn't really a problem but the bathroom was tiny and it is difficult to manoeuvre even for a normal sized person . There is also a fair bit of noise during the night if staying at the front of the hotel. Breakfast is brought to your room but is extremely good value at £5.00 . The owners are very welcoming and provided us with suggestions of where to eat and visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashc4918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us sorry to hear you had a disturbed nights sleep
but as you said yourself it was over the festive period. All our rooms are described in detail to
the best of our ability. We hope you will book with us again perhaps in one of our superior rooms
although we stress they are not bathrooms but en-suites.
Kind regards Watty & Michaela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    57
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
311
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed over the recent Goth weekend and had a wonderful time. Great hosts, lovely breakfast served to your room (and very reasonably priced) and excellent location - parking a real bonus. Stayed in one of the kingsize rooms which was very clean, tastefully decorated and with an extremely comfortable bed! Only thing I would mention is that the bathroom was very small. We were happy make this sacrifice for the extra space in the room itelf, which was very light and airy, but I suppose that depends on your preferences. This will now always be our first choice when returning to Whitby and well deserves its great reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good to hear you both enjoyed your Goth experience with us we have had so much positive
feedback for the Goth Weekend. We are so looking forward to seeing all you guys next year.
Why not join us on Rylstone Mere facebook page & you will see some of the photos or post your own Thank you again for the great review. Regards Watty & Michaela have a good.
Christmas & Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hessle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just returned from Rylestone Mere at Whitby... fantastic friendly b and b plus free car parking and the town centre is a 3 minute walk so perfect! The owners are so nice and cant do enough for you to make your stay lovely. Our room was a double small and perfect for us.. plenty of tea, coffee,hot chocolate and biscuits..It had an ensuite shower and a small table with 2 chairs as you get your cooked breakfast delivered to your room and that was excellent value for money at £5 each and cooked to perfection! We stayed in room number 4 at the front and we would definitely return but would like to stay in room number 1 as it is bigger and at the back of the house so would be quieter..but overall no complaints only compliments especially to the lovely owners!! Fantastic weekend in Whitby again and will return soon...

Room Tip: If you want a budget room then choose the room only as it was nice as we had a look at it and nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review good to know you enjoyed your stay here at Rylstone Mere really makes our job worthwhile to know that people had a great time.
If you would like a particular room just give us a call and we will do our best to oblige.
Till the next time take care both. Regards Watty & Michaela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Location is so convenient - Stunning place to stay, lovely hosts, perfect breakfast choices (delivered to your room). Such a welcoming atmosphere. Stayed over for my first Goth Weekend and the hosts were so friendly. Will definitely visit again..

Room Tip: Have limited parking - but they can accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review nice to hear you enjoyed your first Goth Weekend with us
and hopefully we will see you at the next one. Till then take care.
Regards Watty & Michaela. ( Just to clarify we have parking for every room )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Clean, quiet, perfect location.5 minutes walk to the harbor, excellent choices for breakfast brought to your room ( we had full english served piping hot ) .My wife insists when we go to Whitby again that we book here again, must agree. Also parking spot included so park up and enjoy. Only one problem I saw, nowhere to put your soap whilst in the shower (room 6). Look forward to staying again. Joe and Tina Churchill.

Room Tip: Next time we go might see if we can get a lower floor that's just a personal choice , all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovisBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you you for the nice review good to know you enjoyed your stay with us and sampled some of the fantastic places to eat and drink here in lovely Whitby. Hope to see you soon if you require a
particular room please give us a call. Regards Watty & Michaela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was the first time ive stayed in Whitby ,and I was so impressed with Rylstone mere . We stayed in the small double room it was clean comfortable and well decorated ,breakfast was served direct to your room ,and was excellent . the owners took time to show us some of the other rooms they were all of a very high standard,it really seems they have gone that extra mile to make place special. one of the very best places I have stayed !

Room Tip: the small double is good value for a short stay ,the other rooms are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review so glad you had a good time at Rylstone Mere.
We both look forward to seeing you and your lovely wife in the near future.
Regards Watty & Michaela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a long week end and really enjoyed our stay. Very clean, very friendly helpfull owners. Good location, easy walk down to the town or through the park to the top of the cliffs. Would return without a doubt. Rooms very clean. Car parking on site was a bit plus

Room Tip: We had the budget room, although small, if you only need a base to sleep then it is more than adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarky395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watty d, Manager at Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us the budget room is perfect if you just want somewhere to sleep as you guys were out and about most of the time this suited you. Always nice to get feedback. Hope to see you soon just give us a call. Regards Watty & Michaela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Address: Rylstone Mere 30 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely late Victorian house with views over Pannet Park. Free off-street parking, 4 minute walk to town harbour, pubs, restaurants & all public transport. All rooms are en-suite with many original features & the usual tea, coffee, biscuits, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing