We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yet another return visit”

Middle Earth Tavern
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middle Earth Tavern
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yet another return visit”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was the fifth time we have stayed here over a few years.We just like it for the convenience of a one night stay.We stayed in room 4 again .It was tidy and clean but abit on the cold side and the bathroom was small.The staff are very pleasant and cordial.The breakfast cannot be faulted it was excellent Wewill be staying here again.

Room Tip: Try to get room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lentee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Immingham. N.E.Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here last month.The rooms were clean & the staff so friendly & accommodating.Decor is a little jaded but we weren't paying 5* prices so didn't expect 5* accommodation.The bar was friendly & lively & the entertainment was good.The breakfast was superb & nothing was too much trouble for the staff.I would recommend this tavern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whisky4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we got there on friday at 16.00 all booked in ok. went on whitby pub crawl back to middle earth, a few people in having a good time. Nothing was to much trouble for the bar staff. The next day had a good fried breakfast. The rooms are quit basic but clean with new beding and towels supplied. The saturday night at about 23.00 2 of us wanted a Thai meal others wanted piza, Asked if we could bring food in pub, no problem was the repliy, the lady even brought us plates knifes and forks out. The pub though opens fairly late and if you have kids wanting quiet night, i would not recomend, but if your a group of people from ages 30 up wards wanting a fantastic weekend try it for your selves, you will not be disapointed, we would like to say thankyou to barstaff and cook, hope to see you all soon. wayne and gang x

Room Tip: Our room number was 2 and that was a nice room my freinds had a room at the top 6 i think that was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigwayne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fantastic weekend at this very lively bar. Great music, nice folk, cracking beer and all for the entry fee of precisely zero. Bar staff were very friendly and helpful and the local beers went down very well.
Big thank you to all involved, we all had a great weekend and will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stopped there last year going again this weekend. The place is a lively Bar full of freindly locals who like a sing along, Not full of kids teens etc. More 30-70 year olds. Great for a quick week end break. If u want candles wine and ambiance go elsewhere. If you want the best value in Whitby Middle Earth it is. OOOH cracks in the cieling I hope so the place is 300 years old !!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've stayed here many times. It's a classic local Whitby pub with rooms. Recently refurbished, the room I had last time overlooked the harbour and was bright, clean and comfortable, although the little en suite was a bit a challenge for a big chap like me. Breakfast was good. It's a no fuss place with a bar that seems to be open most hours. The negative comments which the Internet loves to hold on to must be from quite a while ago. I'm going again this spring.

Room Tip: The room on the same level as the dining room, overlooking the harbour is good one, at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a 16 century "Real Ale", old fashioned pub. Rooms are basic but very clean & warm. Home cooked food is very nice. A lovely walk on the flat to the town centre. Live entertainment on over the weekend all year round. "Regulars" are very friendly and accommodating with tourists . You step down into the pub, so watch your step on the way out if you've been on the hard stuff. Ideal pub for a weekend, would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinnycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Earth Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Earth Tavern

Property: Middle Earth Tavern
Address: 26 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Middle Earth Tavern Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing