We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riftswood B&B
Nearby Hotels
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$100
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
304
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
304
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit cakepeter paulakipperson arrivalwelcome drinksea frontmarmaladewarm welcomefantastic hostsnothing is too much troublequiet locationset us up for the daywest cliffcouldn't do enoughlittle gemhome madehome from home
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 317 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Paula and Peter were very welcoming and nothing was too much bother. It was lovely to be welcomed with a cup of tea and a piece of home-made fruit cake! The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious, with food being locally sourced and the jams home-made. Paula even gave me the recipe for her home-made lemon curd! I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Have stayed at Riftswood on several occasions and never been disappointed. Peter and Paula are brilliant hosts, and Peter cooks a wonderful breakfast with the best produce. Would never stay anywhere else in Whitby and looking forward to returning.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A great little B&B, tucked away but in easy reach of the sea front. I have stayed here lots of times now. The owners Peter and Paula are very welcoming and the rooms are lovely with plenty of original period features.
The cooked breakfasts here are second to none. Better than that, the jams and marmalade are home made, and are delicious.
I would definitely recommend the Riftswood B&B.

Room Tip: Room 2 is my favourite.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3238YHDebbie_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Highly recommend the Riftswood, the owners Paula & Peter are VERY friendly and welcoming. Room quality very good, with excellent hospitality tray including locally made biscuits! Welcoming tea/coffee or wine with cake on arrival. Fantastic Breakfast, again with local produce topped off with gallons of tea/coffee and then toast with homemade Jam to finish with. Location Excellent, tucked back of the main street which allows for easy parking yet still only 10mins walk down into town. Will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a brilliant stay at Rifswood B&B last weekend. Pete and Paula were the most welcoming, friendly hosts and made us feel right at home! We were treated to cake and wine on arrival which was delicious and made the start of our stay feel really special. Denzil the dog was also a highlight and we will be on the look out for our very own Denzil one day I'm sure! There were some great personal touches that make this place a real gem, such as names on our breakfast choice order forms as well.
Thank you so, so much Pete and Paula for making my birthday so lovely :) You went out of your way to make it the perfect weekend. We will definitely be staying in Riftswood again when we visit Whitby!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthruthruth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews