We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B!!”
Review of Riftswood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riftswood B&B
Ranked #13 of 153 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were meant to be staying at Riftswood after completing the W2W, but due to a chest infection the plan slightly changed and we travelled across to Whitby for a more relaxed stay and to enjoy the beach and town.

From the moment we arrived, Paula made us feel exceptionally welcome, and the offer of tea and cake was lovely. The room was beautiful - the fireplace was amazing - and had everything we needed for a very comfortable and enjoyable night. I was also pleased by how proud Paula and Peter are of Riftswood, and the amount of effort they put into a) making the place feel welcoming and b) going above and beyond expectations and being so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was brilliant, and it was really good to have a chat with Peter, Paula and Denzel before we left.

I can't compliment this place and the owners enough. I will definitely go back and would advise anyone to stay there from the large number of places one can choose from in a place like Whitby. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for one of the larger en-suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just had an overnight stay in Whitby, the stay at Riftswood was excellent . Peter and Paula were the perfect hosts, so friendly and welcoming , second to none . I wouldn't hesitate recommending Riftswood to anybody looking to stay in the Whitby area. Ian and Jane

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian_fairhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Riftswood Guest House at Whitby and felt compelled to write a report of my experiences. The hotel was beautiful and the hosts (Peter Paula and Denzel) were absolutely perfect in every way. I would genuinely recommend this place to anyone but dont just take my advice read the glowing reports from other guests of which I whole heartedly endorse. This stay has reaffirmed my faith in guest houses after having it shattered a few times. Please do yourselves a favour and have a weekend in Riftswood I know both my wife and I will be doing so again in the near future. Many thanks to all at Riftswood.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just got back from a stay at the Riftswood in Whitby, I don' often stay in b&b's as I am quite a fussy customer but I felt nothing but comfortable here and Pete and Paula go above an beyond to make sure their guests are well looked after and have everything they need, including being kind enough to offer us a lift into town with our heavy luggage after our stay.
On arrival we were welcomed with wine and beer, the offer of fruit cake, and hugs from Denzil the dog which was exactly what was needed after a 5 hour bus journey!
The room was clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated, and well stocked every day with biscuits and chocolates.
The delicious breakfasts were a highlight of our trip.
I would recommend the Riftswood to friends and if we return to Whitby will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salhi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent B&B stayed here for the April Goth weekend.Was greeted with a warm welcome from the owners and Denzel the dog plus the offer of a cup of tea/wine and a slice of cake. The room was spacious with plenty of storage for our Motorbike clothing helmets etc. Everything was clean and tidy ,plus there was tea coffee,hot chocolate ,biscuits and a couple of Lindor chocs thrown in for good measure. It's the little things that count. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful ,and Paula and Pete offer a pre-order service which is a good idea, so order what you want to eat. The location was perfect for us . I would definitely recommend this B&B

Room Tip: we went for the superior double which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Riftswood B&B July 2012- and it was brilliant. Even though our bedroom had a WC in a separate room, it didn't compromise the stay. The rooms were clean and amiable- their pictures on their website do not do them justice. The hosts were all you could hope for, and more. Breakfast was one of the best I've experienced.
We celebrated my partner's birthday whilst on our 2 day trip in Whitby and were pleasantly surprised to see a small bottle of wine, a card and small cake for us in the room.
Not even a 5 minute walk to the cliffs and a 10 minute walk into the centre I would defiantly recommend this B&B and would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 218KathrynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the riftswood on the 16 17 and 18th of Feb, when we arrived we were given a lovely welcome by Pete and Paula and were treated to a glass of wine and a piece if cake, it came up in conversation that my wife only drinks decaf tea unfortunately they didn't have any, the next day they had been out and bought some and even left some in our room. I am a very hard person to please but this B & B and this lovely couple made our stay one to remember. Daniel & Donna

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielp5268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 153 in Whitby
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 153 in Whitby
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#7 of 153 in Whitby
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riftswood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riftswood B&B

Address: 5 Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $66 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian, family run B&B, quietly situated in a secluded part of Whitby, yet within close proximity to the sea front, beach and the bus & rail stations in the centre of Whitby. Guest facilities include 3 large double en-suite bedrooms, with full English breakfast using local produce, along with a selection of alternative items for those with a smaller appetite.Please note we are a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riftswood Hotel Whitby
Riftswood Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing