We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommended guesthouse on Whitby's West Cliff.”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended guesthouse on Whitby's West Cliff.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a return visit for us to the Leeway and we were made to feel most welcome. The accommodation is excellent ( beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean ), the breakfasts are delicious and Garry and Karen are superb hosts. The Leeway is always our first choice when visiting Whitby and we have no hesitation in recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    48
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
125
936
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Leeway, thanks to Garry and Karen.

Lovely room and gorgeous food (ate too much as always, but how can you resist the eggs benedict!! Delicious

Had a problem with our car and Garry 'phoned a friend' who came within fifteen minutes and sorted the problem. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Thanks Garry and Karen, we will be back again. Jane and Angela.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

it was our 5th wedding anniversary and we went to The Leeway as the reviews were excellent and we were not disappointed.
Gary and Karen are excellent hosts not only did they book us a nice restaurant evening meal but gave us a fantastic bucks fizz breakfast!!!!!!
we both loved it see you next time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indysull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Everything that you would want from a first-class guest house (and more). Garry and Karen are delightful and their attention to detail and quality, in both personal service and amenities provided, is excellent. We would very highly recommend a stay at 'The Leeway' and would have absolutely no hesitatation to stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Our room (Scoresby) was accurately represented on 'The Leeway' website. It was delightfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyG1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We first went to The Leeway last March and loved it so much that we booked again for February 2013. The service that Karen and Garry offer is second to non and we would recommend them without hesitation. The rooms are luxurious and huge. The breakfasts are amazingly tasty and ingrediants are sourced locally. Upon arrival you are greated with a smile and a warm welcome with a slice of homemade cake and a cuppa which is much welcomed after the journey. We look forward to staying with them again when we next visit Whitby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkenshaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at The Leeway and as always Gary and Karen welcomed us with warmth and friendliness. Gary showed us to our very modern and stylish room which had charm and individuality. The room was comfortable and provided us with everything we needed from luxury shower gel to a top of the range coffee maker.
Breakfast was delicious and the menu had daily specials which were interesting and tasteful.
We have recommended The Leeway to family and friends and we will continue to visit regularly ourselves.
A fantastic and special place with 2 genuinely nice people who own and run it.
Thanks from Dave and Vicki from West Yorkshire

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a long weekend and stayed at the Leeway for the first time. The attic room was perfect for us with lots of little luxury touches (coffee maker, sweets, bottles of water, etc). We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyjackie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing