We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #20 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Riviera. I contacted them by email to do the booking which was easy.Emma & Zed are both so friendly and welcoming and they have just had a baby so it was lovely to meet the new addition to their little family. Emma welcomed us and the room was ready when we arrived. We stayed in room 2 which has a four poster bed and amazing views over the sea front. The room was lovely and clean, warm and cosy. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a tv but to be honest its a waste to spend time watching the tv when your in such a lovely part of the country! The breakfast is great. You order it the night before so you know exactly what your getting and there are juices, fruit and lots of choice of cereal too as well as toast. Zed does a great poached egg! The Riviera is in a great location to explore Whitby and they do have some information in the reception area about the local area.
We even left some clothes by accident in the room and Emma is very kindly posting them on to us!
We will definately return to the Riviera.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    142
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
82
376
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hosts were very nice . Rooms need updating and better cleaning needed. Breakfast was about average but not for the price. Choice of food was average/poor. Mostly help yourself regarding cereals and toast, had to queue up for toast on slow toasters. They need to be more professional , organised and cleaner for us to go there again

Room Tip: higher the number higher the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnesleyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hucknall nottm
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

sorry to say this did not live up to our expectations would only rate it average 3 star .booked 5 rooms for new year .for 4 nights at a cost varied from 270 to 310 bed and breakfast per room..our party arrived mid morning and we arrived 12 45 .on ringing bell nobody was answering so we tried the door was open .upon walking in to the most bare dull passage way with a guest book on table we rang bells knocked on door that said private nothing .having there mobile number to hand rang and when answered said they had just popped out for something to eat,and would be 20 mns security springs to mind here why did they not lock the door we could have been anyone walking in from the streets with acess to guests rooms .no lounge to sit while we waited so sat on chairs in dining room very dull and not very clean .upon arriving back was full of apoligys but hey sorry if you in this buisness you should be there to meet your guests .well shown to our room was 4 poster veiw was good bed ok and room was warm tv very small for size of room and on looking on hospitality tray saw we had a travel kettle .other rooms bout same lots of areas that need a good clean .the only thing the cleaner does on a daily basis is replenish hospitality tray empty bins and change any towels .breakfast very standard bowl of fruit looked like it had been there for a while 1 jug orange juice i jug apple juice. toast you did yourself choice of breakfast which you have to order day before .we had full english not much on it and on the last day think they had ran out of beans as all of us only got bout 2 teaspoons each .did not see much of owners think it could be due to the fact they had got a 6 week baby, but seemed pleasant enough .but hated to see the guys who served breakfast and owner always outside smoking,just does not look good to guests .and i suppose we have been spoilt with all the other hotels we have stayed at in the new year. was that there was not a single decoration up.you went by other hotels and it was so xmasey and warm looking will not ever go back to this guest house as it lacked warmth and hospitallity. stayed in alot better for half the price .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barceloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and were very surprised to read that the review was from your party as we spoke lots to you all throughout your stay and you seemed as though you were having a great time and nothing was mentioned about you being unhappy with the service provided.

With regards to check in times. Our check in times (like other hotels in Whitby) are after 2pm. However, we are flexible and should the room be ready and we are available, we are more than happy for guests to check in earlier. If guests ask to arrive earlier, we make sure that we are available and we have the room ready.
None of your party, or yourselves, informed us that you wanted an early check in therefore we were none the wiser, Your other party members arrived in the middle of the morning therefore we were available and we checked them in quite happily. We needed to go out at lunchtime to get some shopping and a sandwich (for our rumbling tums) and left a sign out on the desk stating that we wouldn't be long (if you saw the guestbook then you will have seen the sign as it was on top of it). When you arrived and called us, we were no longer than 10 minutes as we ran back up to the hotel so that you wouldn't have to wait (bearing in mind you were early).
We would love to be able to stay at the hotel around the clock but there are times when we have to get some jobs done 'out and about' which I hope our guests can understand.
With regards to the security, all rooms are locked therefore the front door being open does not jeopardise guest security.

I am sorry that you found the hotel to be unclean in areas. We had cleaners come into the hotel between Christmas and New Year to give the hotel a good clean so I am sorry that this was not up to your standard. On looking at the areas you mentioned, we have struggled to understand where you felt it was unclean.

I would like to address the breakfast, we offer fruit (bananas, satsumas, kiwis, grapefruit), 2 juices (orange, apple), a variety of flavours of yoghurts, all the flavours of Kelloggs cereals and porridge, brown and white bread to make toast with a variety if jams, marmalades and honey and then a Full English. The full English contains sausage, bacon, hash brown, tomato, mushrooms, beans and a choice of egg (scrambled, fried, poached or boiled). Therefore, the comment that there is not much on the breakfast, we feel is a little unfair.

I would like to comment that due to having a baby very recently, we closed throughout December and only opened for New Year therefore admittedly, we did not put any decorations up since they would have been up only a couple of days. We are sorry that this was a hindrance to your stay.

Lastly we were upset by your comment that the hotel lacks warmth and hospitality as this is what we pride ourselves upon. We have many returning guests who come back to the guesthouse visit after visit and one of the main 'pulls' to our guesthouse is the warm, friendly environment and the fact that we will go the extra mile for our guests.

On the positives, we are happy that you felt the room was warm on arrival and are pleased that you liked the 4 Poster room and enjoyed the sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 3 which was a four poster room with wonderful sea views. The room was a good size with a comfy bed. The bathroom was small but sufficed.

The guest house is located on the cliffs above town with a ten minute amble to the centre. Wonderful sea views and a quiet location that was ideal for us.

Breakfast was fine although a fairly standard full English. No complaints but nothing to rave about.

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. We were a little disappointed that what could have been an amazing stay was only good. The small problems we had were that the bathroom smelt bad, we had a pillow with no pillowcase and the bathroom was slightly tired looking (door was unfinished with no paint around the handle etc). Despite these minor faults we had a good stay, Zed was very helpful and the room was well furnished. We much enjoyed sitting in the bay window, looking our to sea.

For the price we stayed we were very satisfied.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Huge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from our annual November weekend stay at the riviera, where it is always a pleasure to stay and it was good to see Zed working hard whilst Emma was relaxing in Richmond after having given birth to their son.

Congratulations to both of you and we are looking forward to returning in February

Room Tip: Always ask for a good sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my partner for one night on the 23/11/13.

We were initially greeted by a very enthusiastic and friendly "Zed" who gave us our room keys and all the information that we needed. (Make sure you press the buzzer hard for attention).

We were given room 2, a four poster with a sea view and we were very pleased with our room. Upon opening the door we were greeted with a lovely fresh clean smell, followed by the sight of our beautiful room. The view from the room was fantastic; being able to see the sea from our bed was an added bonus. "Fred" the duck was a cute addition. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided although we didn't use them as well as a working television.

In the evening we settled down for a good nights sleep, at first I thought we might get a bit cold as the duvet appeared quite thin coming into winter, however, I was pleasantly surprised as we were more than warm enough using the heater provided and the next day noticed there were extra covers in the wardrobe had we needed them. Unfortunately, I didn't sleep very well (through no fault of the hotel) however my partner slept all the night through. The only negatives about the nighttime were the creaking of the pipes here and there, as well as being able to hear people in the following rooms, however, this was not a huge problem considering the neighbouring rooms were not rowdy and we didn't hear anything beyond around 10pm. To be fair I do expect a little noise when staying in a hotel.

The bathroom sink, toilet and bath were sparkling clean although the skirting boards were a little bit dusty - having said that they were no more dusty than my own at home. The bath itself was huge (big enough for two) which was lovely as I was able to have a very relaxing warm bath and we were provided with clean towels.

Breakfast was lovely and the dining room had a nice atmosphere. We had a choice of a hot breakfast which we selected the night before and then on arrival into the dining room in the morning there was also a selection of toast and jams, yogurts, fruit and cereal. More than enough for a filling and hearty breakfast.

Another bonus of this hotel was the location, just across the road from Whitby's sandy beach and a short walk from shops and restaurants.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the riviera. We would stay again and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Owner was very friendly and polite, however....
Stopped for one night in room 9 on the 3rd floor. Lovely view out to see but the room was in need of a deep clean. Dirty marks on wall near bin, drip marks on paintwork, dust on skirting boards, shower didn't drain away quick enough and in danger of overflowing. Carpet was badly stained. Wasn't asked for our coffees and teas refilled at breakfast even though the waiter actually filled the next tables up, after being asked. Also informed, on arrival, that we'd not paid when it had been paid online over 2 months previous.
General decor very poor expected a lot more from a 4 star b&b at £80 in November.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse.

We would also like to note that we have taken all of your comments on board and acted upon them.

Since it is now the winter season, we are slowly working through the rooms to redecorate and 'spruce' up. The room you stayed in has now been redecorated. The television has been put on the wall and a new heater installed. We are in the process of organising a fitting date for the bedrooms which need new carpets.

Thank you for letting us know about the slow drainage, this has now been resolved,

We apologise if you were not asked if you would like more tea or coffee. All guests are asked this when we see that cups are low so we are sorry if you were missed out that morning.

On the positives, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the sea views from your room - they are just beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Property: The Riviera Guest House
Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing