We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Sky Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$153
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Plough Inn(Sleights)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rowan Tree House B&B(Sleights)(Great Value!)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Whitby(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$54
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Granby(Whitby)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
30
10
4
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
10
4
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoastwhitby centreminute walkannexpubs
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 56 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Whilst the owner Brian is extremely friendly, myself and I partner regretted staying at this B&B. The location is great and the bedrooms are clean. However, and this is a big however: We were given no choice whatsoever at breakfast time, we were shocked to have a full English just served to us without even asking if that's what we wanted. I've never experienced this anywhere else. On 2 out of 3 mornings did I find what looked like dog hair in my breakfast. This was just unacceptable. I also found a breakfast of one sausage, one slice of bacon, some beans, tomatoes and mushrooms to be very lacking for the price I paid to stay here.
Noises kept us up all night, that sounded like birds in the eaves of the house. Brian needs to look into this as it was very distracting.
I do feel that the label of 'luxury' is going way too far for what you actually get when you stay here, and it is extremely over priced. Brian would do better to lower the cost and be more realistic about what he is offering to guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay and we were really pleased with this B&B. Our host, Brian was very welcoming and friendly, the room was really comfortable and the breakfast was great with plenty of choice and nicely cooked. The B&B was ideally situated facing a park and only a short walk from the town.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Denzil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from 4 days staying at the Big Sky B&B Whitby. Lovely quiet room although we were facing the road and had some traffic noise the other rooms were well spaced out so we did not hear other guests. The room was bright with a large balcony door for a window opening on to a small narrow veranda. The shower in the en-suite was set just right and we didnt have to adjust and controls or reposition it to work properly.

The bed was very comfortable but the big feather quilt was a bit warm for the warm weather we were lucky enough to have. I would have preffered a solid head board as the pillows did get stuck in the wrought iron open design. This didnt impair the quality of sleep though.

Brian the owner was very welcoming and the place was nice and clean throughout. Breakfast was well prepared and consistenlty good quality.

The hotel is easy to find on the roundabout as you come in from the Pickering/Scarborugh road jut before going down the hill in to town. Its only a 10 minute walk (if that) in to town and the railway station.

We parked up the car at the hotel and did not use it for the four days. This made a welcome change as we usually tour the local areas and find on our return its difficult to park. This time we took the Steam Train and used the hop on and off yellow bus service which passes the hotel. The garden area at the back of the hotel got the sun after 9-30 and was a nice place to sit after breakfast before heading off for the day. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice quiet base with a good breakfast to start the day and somewhere to come back to after a nice day sightseeing.

Room Tip: The annexe room and the ones at the back did not have any street noise but there were steps up to it. They were not to arduous and could easily be managed. The view of Pannett Park was nice from my room and no one was distubed by the snoring .
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorrieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our two night stay was excellent good host and hearty breakfasts. We were in the annex this was very nice although there was a lot of steep steps to climb.We will be going back soon It was also regatta week end so this made it a bit more special..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleyfarleyAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

BEWARE when booking at this B&B. We booked four nights in August, but had to cancel on the 1st July. We were charged £85 for the cancellation despite the fact that the room was quickly relet. This not a justifiable charge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews