We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic fantastic fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Sky Bed and Breakfast

Big Sky Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Sky Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #126 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic fantastic fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

stayed here with my young grandaughter and we absolutely loved it. the bed was the comfiest i have slept in and the pillows and duvet have a luxurious feel about them.the owner was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for him, everywhere was spotlessly clean and tidy and the breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful, i will definately be staying here again in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

thank you again for a wonderful stay...jayne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay and would thoroughly recommend it. The room was light and airy, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed (with a memory foam mattress) was large and extremely comfortable and we slept soundly.

Breakfast consisted of orange juice, toast, cereals and a cooked breakfast. The bacon was good quality and the fried eggs perfect.

We rang ahead to give a rough idea of our time of arrival and our host Brian was welcoming, friendly and gave us lots of local recommendations. (One of these was the Humble Pie and Mash Shop - absolutely brilliant, little place with a choice of lovely, homemade pies).

The b & b is only about 5 mins walk into the town and opposite a nice park. It was good value for money and if we go back to Whitby it is certainly where we would stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Greeting was very friendly, even though we'd turned up later than expected due to traffic. Room was spacious, fresh, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The decor and ambience was spot on. Ideally situated for town and off street parking was a big plus. Will definitely stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya7Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

we have just got back from whitby today and it was our second visit to big sky B&B. The rooms are comfortable with big soft bed and luxury bedding. tea and coffee making and tv.We didnt have en suite, but as we were the only ones in the place, we didnt mind and the large bathroom and toilet was just next door to our room anyway. the house is always warm and cosy.
The breakfast was full english with various cearials, toast ect. Brian the owner is a wonderful guy and nothing is too much trouble. My partner and i are bikers and he does have a large double garage where you can keep your bikes. I have never been in a B&B so clean, you could run your fingers along anything and you wont find a spec of dust anywere. The location is good and a 5 minute walk into town.
This is a homley, welcoming B&B and we will always stay here whenever we come to whitby. cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: state on arrival if you want en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Big Sky was recommended to us by the owner of another B&B which had to cancel our one night stay due to some renovation work. The reservation was made over the phone and we gave a rough arrival time. The owner took our mobile number and promised to ring us if there was any problems. We only stayed one night en route home.
On our arrival we were welcomed by the owner who showed us round the house and explained everything we would need to know. The room was a good size with a shower room en suite and well decorated. Our one reservation with the room was the miniscule basin in the shower room.
There was a good sized bed with a thick duvet and, as it turned out, a memory foam mattress.
After spending the afternoon in Whitby we returned slightly leg weary and collapsed into the bed. I then had one of the best nights sleep I have had anywhere other than at home. What a fabulous bed!
The 'Big Sky' cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent and kept us going for the rest of the day.
A friendly place which we would return to if stopping in Whitby again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussBrighouse_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We've spent a very relaxing few days in Whitby, being well looked after by Brian the landlord at the Big Sky. We had the ensuite room at the top of the garden, which has a marvellously comfortable king sized bed. The full english breakfast set us up for the day and kept us going through those long cliff top walks. There were plenty of other options when we wanted something smaller.

This B&B is clean and well cared for; Its in a great location, where you can walk to the sea front in a few minutes across the park. We'll be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieHatter94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Myself and two friends were cycling from Bridlington to Whitby and found the Big Sky was
not only on the main cycle route,but Brian,the Landlord being a keen cyclist himself,made us feel very welcome.
The rooms were airy and spacious with a very large bathroom.The hearty breakfast was
just what we needed to keep us going over our next leg.Our bikes were very securely stored and Brian even managed to point out a detour on our map thus avoiding a couple
of killer climbs.
Overall a thoroughly pleasant stay , i would recommend it to all,cyclist or not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#138 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Bed and Breakfast

Property: Big Sky Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Sky Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing