We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restuarant bland food”
Review of Passage to India

Passage to India
Ranked #73 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Passage To India is a Contemporary Indian cuisine set in the heart of Whitby, North-Yorkshire. The restaurant is decorated up to date in a warm vibrant settings and serving both traditional and contemporary Indian dishes also some English dishes to suit all palate.A warm welcome await for you at the passage to India restaurant.
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Restuarant bland food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited mid Jan 2013 with two friends. Nice decor, waiters did a reasonable job and were welcoming. The food However was very disappointing, bland tasting with none of the exciting, spicy flavours that one expects from a good Indian Restuarant. Best part of the meal was the nan bread!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darrencymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    228
    106
    70
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The restuarant was recommended to us by a local and it didn't disappoint. The meal was very good and well presented. One of our group thought the chapatis were a bit pricey compared to the restuarants where we live in West Yorkshire - but said they were probably the best he'd had! Customer service is brilliant - I left my gloves and they posted them onto me free of charge. Will definitely go again when we go back to Whitby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Madras”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was ready for a good curry and love a Madras...made the right choice here.
Excellent value, cuisine and ambiance...however staff could be a little less "dour"

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited for the 4th time, by far the worst. Service very slow, even taking into account it was new years eve.
Poppadoms soft, first time I`ve seen any sent back from the friends I was with. Some mains arrived at a tepid temperature, then had to wait for sundries, even after several reminders. Most of the dishes were ok, but the lamb was not up to scratch, definately not `succulent` as described. Honest opinion given to staff when they asked. This was then passed on to management, there was no reaction to this, except we were not offered the complimentary drink everyone else was given on finishing their meal, petty or just an oversight? Comments were politely given to the management on leaving, but a sense of `Ive got your money, close the door on the way out` was apparant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tesh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
“Great Meal”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a meal here whilst we were staying at the George hotel accross the road. Meal was fantastic, restaurant clean and friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to India also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing