We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE ..GREAT LOCATION. GREAT HOSTS......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Florence Guest House
Ranked #73 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE ..GREAT LOCATION. GREAT HOSTS......”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the florence for a long weekend 11th October 2013 we can honestly say its a fantastic place to stay the guest house was spotlessly clean, the location is ideal for the lovely walks around the town and the breakfast freshly cooked and lots to chose from. Janet and Alan certainly no the formula in running a guest house nothing was to much trouble for them and they have a very good knowledge of the area just ask,thank you both for a great stay. Paul ,Debbie west mids.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nug59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSWhitby, Owner at Florence Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay @ The Florence and that you enjoyed Whitby. It is very pleasing when guests post reviews like this, it lets us know we are doing things right! Hope you will back our way some time soon
Janet & Alan @ The Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the last three years and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else Janet makes us very welcome and treats us as old friends comfy beds exceptionally clean rooms lovely white bed linen big fluffy white towels and last but not least the breakfast is too die for ( my husbands words ) The Florence is home from home and nothing is too much trouble . An added bonus is only two minutes walk into Whitby and the lovely view of Pannet park out of our bedroom window.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete and Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Florence Guest House for one night B&B.

Whitby was very busy at the time and there were very few vacancies in the town. I telephoned a couple of days in advance as all booking sites would only allow a three night reservation. The proprieter answered and helpfully said that she would make an exception on this occasion for a one night stay.

The Florence is a traditional guest house, a short walk from the centre of Whitby and very close to the bus and train stations.

The rooms and communal areas are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent with a varied choice and relaxed service. A breakfast cooked freshly to order is a welcome change from the buffet style arrangements in expensive chain hotels.

No real complaints but there is no parking and the premises are adjacent to a busy road so transfer of luggage isn’t straight forward. Once emptied, there is ample public parking close by at a reasonable price. Only other comment is that the bed in our room could probably do with a new mattress – quite uncomfortable.

However, all-in-all an excellent establishment and very good value. To be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a busy road. Ask for a rear facing room if you want to reduce road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklinsGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have just returned from a short break in Whitby. Stayed at Florence Guest House. Location is great not far from the main town, the bus station, and railway station if you don't want to use the car.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean, and nicely decorated, with clean fresh white towels everyday.
The breakfasts are terrific with a large choice and eat as much or as little as you like, perfect poached eggs set you up perfectly for the day, pleasant dining room where you can have a natter with fellow guests.
Janet and Alan are both extremely helpful and cheerful.
Its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spud4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely short stay at the Florence. Very welcoming hosts and super breakfast to set you up for the day. Super location for walking base on coastal paths. Nothing is too much trouble for Janet who is very knowledgeable about the area. Would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner on Monday 12th August for the final night of the Whitby Regatta. We booked it last minute, the day before and Alan and Janet, proprietor's of the guest house where very accommodating. Overall the bedroom was lovely, clean and comfortable although we thought it was a little bit small but nothing major. It was a beautifully decorated room with En-suite bathroom with a power shower perfect for waking us up with in the morning. The dining room was next door to our room so not far to walk in the morning. The breakfast was the best we have had in a long time. Plenty of selection and service with a smile from Janet. You could have literally what you wanted. The cooked breakfast was delicious and you could have as much or as little as you wanted. The Hotel was in a good central location for all amenities in Whitby and it's right next to Pannet Park which is a wonderful place to walk around if you want some peace and quiet or a romantic walk. I would definatly recommend this place to any one. We're already thinking of going again and I will be telling everyone how nice our hosts were. Thank you for a wonderful stay Janet and Alan. We look. Forward to seeing you in the not too distant future. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pw18968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at The Florence which is a delightful B & B with very welcoming hosts. The room was spotlessly clean and towels changed each day! Excellent in room facilities and breakfasts you don't need to eat for the rest of the day!! Very well placed for a gentle stroll into town and opposite a lovely park. Would recommend without hesitation !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#109 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overdale Guest House
Overdale Guest House
#33 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#47 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#9 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#59 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Guest House

Property: Florence Guest House
Address: 4 Broomfield Terrace | Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence is a family run Guest House in the heart of the historic town of Whitby. We are centrally located within a short walk of almost all that Whitby has to offer. Our rooms are elegant, functional and provide the discerning traveller with all the essentials. Our breakfast is legendary and sourced locally for quality and freshness. Our welcome is warm & sincere. Come and let us make your Whitby experience special! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Florence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing