We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Master bedroom suite with exquisite roll top bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom suite with exquisite roll top bath
Whitby Harbour looking towards St Mary's Church and Whitby Abbey Master bedroom suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Master bedroom suite with exquisite roll top bath
Whitby Harbour looking towards St Mary's Church and Whitby Abbey
Master bedroom suite
Master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
View from hallway window of Whitby and St Mary's Church
Kitchen
Bathroom with shower over bath
Entrance stairs and hallway with views over Whitby Harbour
Whitby Pier
Visit England 4* Gold Grade Award 2016
Whale Bone overlooking Whitby Harbour
A statue of Captain Cook looking out to sea
Whitby Harbour
Entrance to Sea Shanty, this period property is over 400 years old
Whitby
Whitby Pier
Whitby Harbour and Whitby Life Boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ValC1021
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful Apartment in a great location. Everything very clean with a great deal of thought out into all the things in the rooms.
Loved the views. Has everything you need and more. Very friendly staff at Whitby Cottages! Will definitely go again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
We welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your lovely comments about Sea Shanty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriGungaD...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good, but not perfect...”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, nicely decorated (the kitsch seaside cottage stuff has been relegated to the grand entrance lobby) very well equipped kitchen, 3 TVs, 2 baths, luxury toiletries. In fact it's much nicer than my house, but I have hot water on tap and good Wifi.

This was mainly a walking holiday and we quickly spotted the problem. After a long day walking the coast there's no hot water for an evening soak in that lovely roll top bath. I suspect the hot water tank is shared with the 2 holiday rentals below. There's a booster immersion heater (remember those?) but it's an hour wait for a bath full.

The other issue is that the Wifi is also shared with between the 3 rentals in the building. It's not the speed, it's because the signal varies greatly, OK in the twin bedroom but the main room is the dead spot, it's strongest at the bottom of the stairs, the router is located in the flat below. So forget streaming, bring a pre-loaded laptop or tablet with a HDMI lead for your media pleasure.

If you don't need strong Wifi or hot water to soak your aching bones when you get home then this could possibly be one of the nicest holiday rents in Whitby, it all depends on what you want and need. We loved some things about the place, but it didn't quite work for us, but it might do for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrsdannib...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful week staying here.”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is so lovely. The kitchen is very well equipped and the beds very comfortable. The shower is powerful and the roll top bath in the master bedroom is just a lovely added luxury. Very clean and homely so much so my 5 year old didn't want to leave and has already asked to go back next year. The location is perfect and only a 2 minute walk from the beach and 5 minutes from the old town. Definitely by far the best accommodations we've had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Thank-you for your review for Sea Shanty. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteD82
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Accommodation and Brilliant location”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just stayed in the Sea Shanty as a guest of some friends who stayed for Goth week. We loved the location, and the high standard throughout. Really helpful owner, who had a great welcome pack. We will be staying again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sea Shanty. Thank-you for your great feedback and we welcome you back to Sea Shanty soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerys M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea shanty”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed in Sea Shanty and everything was spotless. Everything was supplied that we could possible need! Really like the bath in the bed room, nice and centeral in Whitby, great place will be coming back soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne D
1 review
“Fantastic seaside property”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely fabulous seaside property, nice and clean. Great location and has everything you could need. Slight problem finding parking spaces, so didn't use car much, but little boy was happy with beach & walking round Whitby. Good play park near museum. Would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of property
Liked least: The pub across the road on a weekend - a bit noisy when we had the Windows open
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sea Shanty. Most people choose Sea Shanty for the central location and to have all the amenities on the doorstep. Just for future reference, there is the Harbour Carpark, in Langbourne Road, which has llot of spaces and is free after 6pm until 9 am., there is also more spaces on Westcliff. Pannet Park and Museum in Whitby are a real gem! Looking forward to you staying in Sea Shanty again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week, fantastic location for everything, very central.
Lovely apartment, very clean and spacious. Had everything we need including wifi which was great! Fab views from the bedroom window looking out over the Harbour. The roll top bath in the bedroom was an added luxury!
Walking distance from the beach and anything you'd need for your visit such as supermarket, shops, pubs, bars and restaurants so a car isn't necessary (very close to bus station and train station-including the steam train).
If you do have a car, York is an hour away, Scarborough 30 mins, as well as Dalby forest and flamingo land Resort and theme park around a 45mins journey.
Recommend a walk along the sandy beach towards Sandsend when the tide is out.
Lovely area and great accommodation we are defiantly planning on staying in Sea Shanty again soon.
Thank you for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Thank-you for your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Whitby and at Sea Shanty. I will look forward to you staying with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing