We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Assam House Whitby

Assam House Whitby
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assam House Whitby
Ranked #121 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow! A wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hadn't been to this part of Whitby before to stay. Parking is free outside but Dave allowed us to park on the driveway off-road so a nice touch. Room clean beds comfortable and we quickly got used to the sounds of the power flush of the toilet system! Host is not into strict breakfast times as long as you are sensible about it. Gave us knowing advice of the best places to go in Whitby and breakfast was superb. Don't change anything, Dave, you are doing it right so far!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank firsttimehotelmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Assam House. On arrival was greeted by the very friendly Dave who went out of his way to make us both feel welcome (myself and husband). Although our room was very small was perfectly clean and very adequate for what we wanted. I suffer with Coeliac disease so I was very pleased when I was catered for Dave bought bread for me which was a real touch. Ten minutes to town centre plenty on road parking. Breakfast well what can I say you defiantly won,t go hungry. A pleasant stay and will return. Thanks for your hospitality x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleylou1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed in August for 8 days for folk week again. It's a brilliant place to stop in. Great access to town, parking on the road, on a bus route. Dave is very welcoming and very helpful;has no strict rules other than consideration for others. He cooks excellent scrambled eggs and provided me with custard creams every day.

Room 2 is clean, quiet, has it's own shower and toilet/sink in separate room. It's ideal for me:)

A great stay again and I'll be back for next year. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitar73girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from Assam House after 4 days, we have had a brilliant 4 days. Assam house is very clean and very comfortable. We were greeted by Dave the owner who couldn't do enough for you. Best full english breakfast ever but Dave will do any thing you ask for, nothing is a problem. Hope to return sometime loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

WE went for 3 nights including new year yet again faultless .Clean, food supurb .David a fab host .We went to the shooting/rifle club where David caters for the buffet ,the best new year we have had ,all the regulars were so frienndly and made us so welcome especailly Bob and janet cant wait to go again next new year booked already .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodwin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at Assam house for 4 nights, we were welcomed warmly by David whom throughout our stay could not do enough for us. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet with a TV and DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities, also a fabulous en suite bathroom which is actually bigger than our own. There are no hard and fast rules, which is always nice, just consideration for other guests which goes without saying. We were able to park our car right outside the house. A short walk to the town centre and surrounding areas really made our stay fantastic.A full English breakfast was on offer every morning along with a choice of cereals, fresh orange juice and toast, we were even able to choose what time we wanted breakfast which was great. Coming back to Assam house in the winter.... cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel N Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Dave is brilliant. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and his service is second to none. He knows the area so well and is able to give routes for us to ride on our motorcycle. He is also knowledgeable on Whitby itself past and present. The rooms are clean and comfortable and so are the beds. Dave also tailors breakfast to your own personal needs. Nothing is a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Furzweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#27 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#144 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assam House Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assam House Whitby

Property: Assam House Whitby
Address: 80 Stakesby Road, Whitby YO21 1JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Assam House Whitby, a small and friendly Guest House run by resident owners. Assam House provides clean, comfortable accommodation in a quiet suburban location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing