We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”
Review of North Beach Cafe

North Beach Cafe
Ranked #175 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Whitby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We are locals, visited this cafe with relatives and was ashamed that this was Whitby customer service! When asking for a coffee was told that 'machine had been cleaned, you'll have to have instant'.
Parasol removed from our table as we were sitting there, no explanation! Overheard the miserable server telling another waitress to 'get the people to move' (us - who were drinking drinks from this cafe).
All the serving was done with extreme bad grace
The only reason I have not rated it terrible is the location is lovely.
I would no go here again as I am taking a stand against this shocking standard of customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only for emergencies...”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Long queues and tourist prices. Only for the very hot and thirsty (oh and patient). The owners seem clueless about running a beach front business...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cleverfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warming up on a cold day.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we went they for a warm up one of our days out, when it was cold and wet that day, we received a warm welcome and warmed our selves up too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive, expensive, expensive!!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Standard food, which tasted ok....slow service, but most of all massively over priced!! £3.70 for a bacon sandwich, 2 slices of cheap white bread (couldn't even stretch to a bread roll!) with 2 rashers of cheap fatty bacon inside!
Avoid at all costs, plenty of much nicer places in Whitby town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emma6549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor everything”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The service is slow. The "food" is badly made and of poor quality. The lids in the hot drinks dont fir the cups so hot drinks regularly get spilt. A shame because the location is stunning and it wouldnt take much to make this a great spot.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greebo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to North Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing