We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UBER STYLE + FAB VALUE”
Review of Number 5

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 5
Ranked #33 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Mary's breakfasts keep me going all day so I can enjoy the full Whitby experience before another great night's sleep in their beautifully decorated and comfy house. Jane is attentive and helpful with local information so that I can fit in something new each visit whether it's a table top sale, themed event, good restaurant or music venue. Fab. Can't wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: The top rooms have a great view of the Abbey and the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plum06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Number 5
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 181 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not only the best beds and the best breakfasts but the whole place feels welcoming and friendly. A really lovely place to stay in a lovely seaside town. We're already planning our return for next year!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have stayed at No 5 several times now and if anything it was even better this time. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and so comfy with everything you need there. The breakfast is excellent every time and Jane and Mary cannot do enough for you. It is a highly recommended place to stayin a central location, I challenge you not to like it. We are booked in again for later this year and are taking our friends with us, they will love it.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We saw the vacancies sign outside No. 5 and knocked on the door - what a find! Jane was so friendly, allowed me to view the only room she had left before making a decision. It was in the attic which had gorgeous views. We were extremely impressed with the care and attention to detail that had gone into the room. I loved the large selection of high quality toiletries and the robes/slippers etc. The house has a lovely feel to it. Like previous guests we loved the interesting art work around the house. The breakfast was excellent, with something available to suit everybody. I would recommend this lovely place to anyone wanting to stay in a quality bed and breakfast in Whitby. Thanks Jane and Mary.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank painterbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Iv now stayed at this hotel many times. Most years for a long relaxing weekend out of season. Over the past 5 years me and my partner have stayed in Rome, Venice, paris, Iceland, London and Amsterdam just to mention a few. But where ever we venture we always find it hard to find a better place to spend the night than No 5. Jane and Mary have been nothing other than lovely every visit. And the hotel itself is just as lovely. On one of our visits over breakfast we enquired of somewhere special to eat that evening. Jane advised that there was only one such place to eat, that being the fox and hound at Goldsborugh and that she would book us a table if we liked, we agreed. Jane returned 20 minutes later to informe us that the fox and hounds had no tables left but as Jane and Mary already had a table booked for themselves they had just changed the names and we could use their table. And we are so glad we did. We now refuse to stay in Whitby unless No 5 has vacancies and the Fox & Hounds have tables. Do yourself a favour and stay at this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riverripon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This guesthouse is the nicest one I've stayed in so far at whitby Stopped in an attic room that didnt have an en suite due to
Late booking but a really great room. Have booked again next year to stay in an en suite room on the first floor. Can't wait. The owners were great too. Left you to it but we're there if you needed them. The breakfast was the best I've had. Loved the sausages which I don't normally eat. Bookto go if you get the chance. It's fab

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8i26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We visit Whitby quite often and have just found Number 5. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with Jane and Mary. Loved the quirky decor in the dining room and the mixture of antiques in our bedroom. Breakfast was excellent - lots of choice, well cooked and good ingredients. It's the first time that we have had sachets of ground coffee and a cafetiere in our bedroom - fantastic! Loved the fact that they have a leisurely one and a half hour breakfast slot, instead of the usual half hour - and so very reasonable for the quality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#26 of 152 in Whitby
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#10 of 152 in Whitby
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#38 of 152 in Whitby
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#19 of 152 in Whitby
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 5

Address: 5 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 5 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
No 5 Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing