We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy in Settle”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy in Settle”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just back from a week in Settle. Goldielands is in a great location 2mins walk into the centre and all that the town has to offer. Family of 5 and plenty of space, loads of off road parking and space in the garage for all 5 bikes! The cottage is very warm and quiet with all the bits and pieces you could need. Managed to get all our gear dry every day thru a wet week... A lovely spot for walking and cycling. No qualms to recommend Goldielands to anyone!

Thanks Ann, for a great place to come back to in Settle!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you for the first class review. We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and will recommend us, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jk B
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Nice and cozy. Very convienent to everything. Really enjoyed our stay. The only thing I would comment on would be that the headboard on the Master bedroom bed could be better attached to bed so as not to bang against wall. Otherwise everything was nice. Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Hi thank you for taking time to leave a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always say to guests that any concerns and we are only 5 minutes away and are happy to rectify any problems. In this case bed was moved an inch away from wall and the headboard issue was sorted. Hope to see you again when you are next visiting our country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you for your comments we really do appreciate feed back from guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we are able to welcome you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David B
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales from”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We previously stayed in 2008 & 2009 and love the cottage's proximity to the town centre and shops. This cottage has parking nearby which for us was a big plus. It is well equipped, very clean and well-looked after by the owner who met us with the key. We returned this year to find WiFi had just been installed - a nice surprise. The train line at the back of the house is not very busy and does not disturb. If you're lucky your stay might coincide with a show at the local theatre. We enjoyed the Eccles cakes from the Naked Man café - great to take on a walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Thank you for your return visit it was good to welcome you back to Goldielands. All our guests seem to appreciate the recent WiFi addition. Victoria Hall always has lots to offer and of course Settle is hosting the Tour de Yorkshire 2016, Yippee. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent base from which to go cycling”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've been coming back here for the 3 peaks cyclocross race for a number of years now.

All the usual stuff is great as you would expect - kitchen, bedrooms, bathroom etc. etc. but it is additionally good for cyclists as there is a washing machine for kit and a garage to store bikes.

Recently added wifi is also handy.

We will be back again I'm sure.

Thanks

David McLean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
Thank you for visiting again it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests. Fantastic weather this year for the race. Glad you appreciated the newly installed wifi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz F
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend retreat”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Been to Goldilands twice now and I have to say every visit has been a joy. This holiday cottage has everything you need for a relaxing weekend away. It is also perfectly placed to attend to all people needs, be it walking, shopping in near by Skipton or just relaxing the weekend away in the centre of this delightful little village. Settle has everything from local traditional pubs to very nice up market Falcon Manor. Eateries are equally as various from Indian, Italian, fish and chips, traditional pub grub and many more. The cottage has everything you could want for a very comfortable stay. If I had to be picky it does not have Wi fi, but really the place is so delightful it really isn't a big deal. The owner Anne couldn't be anymore helpful from when you book to the day you leave. Her local knowledge is fabulous and she has done her research and visited most of the places she recommends. On arrival she leaves a few basic groceries such as tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and eggs from her own farm, so plenty to keep you going for the first night if you get there late. A local supermarket is within walking distance and will provide you with everything you will need for your weekend stay. The station is a 2 min walk away (trains stop at night and don't keep you awake) where you can hop on a train and have a shop in Skipton. Have already booked for October and again in May 2016. Can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is spot on and the owner is soooooo friendly
Liked least: No Wi fi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Thanks for your review and just to let you know that SKY Broadband is booked for the 24th September 2015! It should be up and running for the next time you visit! Goldielands will have free WIFI.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossie47
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property in great location”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really clean and cosy. We were met at property by owners who were very friendly and showed us around. They were on hand via text and phone all week also and were happy to answer any questions we had.
The location is brilliant - really close to Settle, Giggleswick, Station, Booths (lovely supermarket) and lots of walks along the River Ribble. I am talking 5 mins walk to all these places!
Kitchen really well equipped, plenty of towels and blankets and peaceful outside space.
We took 3 very young children and it was a safe, child Friendly place to stay.
Would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: The speed of cars racing down the road!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;