We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for the August bank holiday for 2 nights and had a very enjoyable stay.
The guest house was very well maintained and a pleasure to stay in .The host's were very attentive, kind and caring and nothing was too much trouble .The rooms were spacious, extremley clean and the bed very comfy. Breakfast was great , a real good start to the day before making it to the top of Ingleborough .
Thanks for a lovely stay , hope to be with you again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Firstly well done for making it to the top of Ingleborough after you left here! We really appreciate you taking time to do this review and we are delighted we were able to provide an enjoyable stay. We both look forward to welcoming you back one day...there are two more Yorkshire Peaks to do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    39
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
224
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for one night in the Black Sheep room on the ground floor as we had our crazy collie with us. I can honestly say that this is the first "dog friendly" accommodation that actually is as it says, the room had a doggie bed and bowls, one of which was filled with water in preparation for our arrival!

Beautifully decorated room, comfy bed, great spotlessly clean bathroom with lovely toiletries and an excellent breakfast. Really helpful hosts who recommended all of the dog friendly eating places in town, overall a great place to stay and we will return. A perfect example of how a B&B should be presented and run.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic “doggie friendly review” we are delighted that you found us a perfect example which is very nice to read – it would be great to welcome you all back one day to our Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I always read TripAdvisor and have learnt to read between the lines a bit but have never been moved to write a review till now. Nothing was too much trouble, even carrying my bike up and down to the cellar for me, and lending me a water bottle when I had forgotten mine. This was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for doing this review, we are glad we prompted you to write these kind words. We always like to assist where we can and the little things can make a stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while completing the Yorkshire 3 Peaks for charity. On arrival Chris showed us to our room and helpfully pointed out the local pubs and restaurants that we might have been interested in during our stay. We stayed in the Flying Herbert room which had a very nice comfortable bed, complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits, complementary toiletries in a lovely clean bathroom with a spacious powerful shower. We left around 5.15am on the first morning so too early for breakfast although we were advised we could grab some cereal and juice if we wanted before we set off. Had the full breakfast the next day and it was lovely, poached eggs cooked perfectly and good quality bacon and sausage.

The only thing I will mention is that I am a very light sleeper and our room was at the front of the guest house. Due to it being warm we had the windows open and the noise from people leaving the pub could keep people awake if they were a light sleeper like myself. I’ve learnt my lesson from previous weekends away so had my ear plugs with me and the noise didn’t keep my husband awake. But just a tip that if you are a very light sleeper and staying in the Flying Herbert room in summer you might want to pack some ear plugs to ensure a good nights sleep. But this is just a tip for other people reading, not a negative about the guest house. All in all a lovely stay and if we ever stay in Settle again we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firecracker1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Many thanks for writing your review and thoughts, it’s great to read you felt you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfast the following morning after completing your challenge. The tip for light sleepers is a fair point as we are close to the pub but when it’s warm having the windows open is nice! Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at King William the Fourth Guest House on the first day of a railway based holiday that took us on the Settle to Carlisle Railway and then up via Glasgow to Mallaig and over the see to Skye. We spent ten nights at various bed and breakfast establishments. King William the Fourth Guest House started by setting the bar very high indeed.

The patrons were hospitable and the welcome was warm indeed. The care showed in attention to detail. The breakfast was generous and well cooked. When we learned that the downstairs room allows guests to bring theit four legged friends we resolved then to visit again with Nell, our border collie.

Room Tip: It is difficult to fault this venue. The downstairs room is compliant to disability access legislat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndyOfNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are really happy to read we set such a high standard for the start of your holidays, and you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and thanks for sharing your review. It will be great to welcome you both back with Nell into our Black Sheep room in the future and to hear about your brilliant holiday in Scotland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed 2&3 Aug 2013 to do the Yorkshire 3peaks. Great location for the walk, approx 10-15mins drive from the start at Horton in Ribbledale.

Jackie and Chris have a relaxed and friendly approach which makes this a perfect place to unwind, and you can come and go as you want.

We stayed in the Golden Pippin room which was beautifully presented, and was quiet even though overlooked the main street. The bathroom was lovely with nice toiletries, and thick, fluffy towels. The beds were super comfy, especially after a hard day's walking.

My other half rated the in-room biscuits as excellent - I never got to eat any!

The breakfast on both mornings was delicious. Chris and Jackie were up early to prepare our cooked breakfast for 6:30 on the Saturday, and they were certainly brighter and more awake than we were! This was a great start for our challenging walk ahead. There is great flexibility at breakfast; you can choose any combination from the full breakfast. It's very tasty and is served with a smile!

Excellent homemade Flapjack (for £1 donation to air ambulance), highly recommended for the hills.

If we come back to the area, we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review, it’s great to hear your all enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the extra touches/services we offer. If you were to come back again try and get to the biscuits first! Well done again for completing the challenge and good luck with the national 3 peaks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked the whole place out for the friday and saturday as we were at a wedding. It was gentlemen only on the Friday night and our better halves arrived the day after. We were all very happy with our stay and the owners were very helpful. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast was great. All in all we have all had a great time. Thank you for welcoming us.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Many thanks for writing this great review, we are really pleased you were all very happy with your stay and a great time was had by all – Glad you enjoyed our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Property: King William the Fourth Guest House
Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing