We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King William the Fourth Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I am in love with this b and b!!!

Ill start from the beginning, i specifically wanted a room with a bath and it turns out a lot of places seem to just put in showers now. however fuggles was a bargain price with a bath in a great location and good reviews...so far so good.

The room exceeded expectation, it was amazing. the jacuzzi bath was perfect after our long walks and the tv was huge!

The second part of a review of a b and b has to go to the breakfast. the king william has a fantastic choice with brilliant sausages!

Chris and Jackie are great hosts and were so helpful with where to eat and ideas for walks without being intrusive.

I cant wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your amazing comments; we are so happy that we lived up to your expectations both with the room, breakfast and service. Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back to the King William the Fourth Guest House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
216
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here after doing the 3 peaks.

We had not made any dinner reservations for that evening, so when we got back to the B&B Jackie & Chris phones around the pubs and restaurants in Settle to find us a table.
The room was nice and the bed very welcoming after walking the distance that we had.
Great breakfast too. Cooked to order.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We were more than happy to assist with reserving you a table, especially as the restaurants in Settle can get busy at the weekend. Especially after doing the 3 peaks walk we are conscious that our guests need to refuel ! and still found some room to enjoy our breakfast the next morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here at the weekend as boyfriend was competing in the 3 Peaks Cyclocross event so we wanted to be close by. We stayed in the Black Sheep room on the ground floor - a great room, very comfortable with a wet room which is just what we needed it was fabulous. Breakfast was great - lots of choice and good quality. We managed to get parked out on the front and Jackie and Chris, the owners kindly stored bike and spare wheels in their cellar. They also advised of places to eat and were very friendly and helpful in general.

Only one small problem was the room on the front can be slightly noisy in the evening but a pair of earplugs would soon sort this out. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rammsteinqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Firstly congratulations in completing the 3 Peaks Cyclecross in “testing conditions” !, also many thanks for completing a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Despite the issue with the noise you heard when the local pub emptied on the Saturday night, we are happy that this would not deter you to stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We only had one night stay, but location of King William was great in centre of town. Great selection of local pubs & restaurants within walking distance for dinner. Hosts Jackie and Chris gave advice on where to eat. Room was a good size and very clean with everything you would expect in room. Bathroom great with large shower. We had lovely cooked breakfast with “square black puddings” that were fantastic. Breakfast was cooked to order and very hot and fresh. We could not fault this B&B and superior to many 4 & 5* hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leirure_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the King William the Fourth Guest House. We both very much appreciate your comments about the room and breakfast, we like your observation about the unique Black Pudding produced by Drake & Macefield Butchers in Settle. I do hope we can welcome you back to our Guest House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great place, clean - very nice couple running the B&B - very helpful. Parking was tight but that is to be expected in a town with streets designed for horses and wagons. Nice full English breakfast served and enjoyed. Jackie and Chris do a nice job (even carried our extremely heavy luggage up the stairs which I told them I would handle). Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gosheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arriving very late wet and tired Jackie and Chris did everything they could to help us. They took our wet gear and shoes to dry, rang round all the pubs to see if it would be possible to still get a bar meal at this late hour. Rooms are very comfortable and the power shower is just what you need after a long day in the saddle.The breakfast is excellent with the creamy porridge and lovely sausage just what you need to start another days ride. If you are doing The Way of the Roses cycle route this is the place to stay in settle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spennyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stopover on Way of The Roses cycle route. Very clean, comfortable and a hearty breakfast. Very friendly mountain biker hosts.Nothing too much trouble .Secure cycle storage. In the centre of Settle. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Littlebank Country House
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#15 of 20 in Settle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Property: King William the Fourth Guest House
Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing