We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived in the rain; left in the rain; but sunny overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stopover on Way of The Roses cycle route. Very clean, comfortable and a hearty breakfast. Very friendly mountain biker hosts.Nothing too much trouble .Secure cycle storage. In the centre of Settle. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for King William the Fourth Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 452 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

This bed and breakfast was very comfortable - extremely clean - great breakfast! The owners were very helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money. We brought our dogs and they were also made very welcome - even getting their bowls cleaned daily!!

- Only helpful point to the owners - need more hanging space for wet clothes either in the room or in the hallway? But thankyou for tumble drying our clothes constantly with the rain! :)
- Also we would have liked to open the window with our wet dogs! ( we know this is something you were thinking about in the future - replacing the old one)

Only small details that would would have made our stay just that bit more perfect!

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room - the downstairs room (we had to get it because it was the only dog fri...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAMac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and very grateful for your very positive comments. Since your stay in June we did replace the windows the following week, therefore this room now has two lockable opening windows.
Also we have taken on board the hanging space issue which is a very valid point and will endeavour to provide a solution in the near future. As regards to your room tip, we could only agree this is the one downside for this room, as we provide early breakfast for guests doing the 3 Peaks Walking Challenge (This usually only occurs once a week), we do try to keep the noise levels to a minimum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Jackie and Chris couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They stored our bikes in their cellar, the room was tasteful and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and it is an ideal location in the centre of town for eating out

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My pal and I stayed here one night while cycling the White Rose Cycle trip.
We had a very kind welcome on arrival from our hosts. Room was lovely, breakfast excellent. I would recommend this B n B highly to anyone passing through the charming town of Settle

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaturecoupleGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Pleasnat place to stay and suited us perfectly for rail journey from settle to Carlisle and back. Rooms a little small but so nice and clean that we were both very happy with the accommodation and Jackie and Chris who were very friendly.

Room Tip: We slept in Flying Herbert and Golden Pippin. both very pleasant.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geogeoff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband statues in the golden pippin room for one night for a treat away. The host where great and recommended places for us to visit and eat out. The room was clean and cosy the spa bath was amazing after a long busy day. The breakfast was perfect way to start the next day with a full happy tummy. We will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyJakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here as part of our Way of the Roses jaunt. Top quality nights stay in Settle. Nothing I can fault. Good value. Tasefully designed rooms. Smoked salmon in the scrambled eggs and fresh fruit at breakfast.. Jackie is very knowledgable about the town and can help with cycling issues. They had recently boosted the Wi-fi signal round the building. Jackie carried our bikes for storage in the cellar and while bringing them back up in the morning noticed that one of my tyres needed some air. Next door to a good pub. Brilliant.

Thanks folks

I would give 6 stars if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveroygbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: $96 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing