We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in April 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed in April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

A comfortable peaceful stay in a lovely spacious and warm room. Lovely welcome, very good breakfast, and a very helpful, friendly host, who ensured that our needs were met. Will certainly go again. This is an excellent base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Fuggles" and were very happy with the room, bed, and details. Although this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    39
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
224
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Good location, room looked nice at outset, but TV broken and breakfast average. But all in all, a good experience and Settle is gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
As the new owners who took ownership of the property in February, I was wondering when this stay took place as the guest house was closed between November and April ? We have taken on board these comments and yes there was a T.V. broken in one room which has been replaced. As for the quality of breakfast I can not comment on anything previous to our ownership but we endeavour to use only the best locally sourced ingredients and have very good comments on the quality of our breakfasts since opening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Reasonable quality and personable and friendly family and staff but would benefit from a couple of bits of attention - only possible to watch TV from lying on one side in bed and one poor chair in a double room with no downstairs lounge. In the bathroom only 2 out of 7 lights were working! A top quality property requires top quality attention to detail. Lots of good stuff too!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

A comfortable quiet room, lovely bathroom. At night the restaurants and pubs in Settle are a few steps away. Park in front of the house if there is room, as we got our car scraped in the public car park overnight. The breakfast was wonderful, the service excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejsibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed for one night at this lovely guest house and really enjoyed it.

Had the loft-room with the Jacuzzi which was very relaxing. The room was very spacious with a excellent flat screen tv. The bed was very comfortable which was great as we had a 6 hour drive and really needed the good sleep.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and plentyful.

We were able to park right outsdie the front door and were only a 2 minute walk from the square and just 5 minutes from the railway station.

Would certainly recomend the King Billy to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalfordsGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a lovely guesthouse! A perfect place to relax and unwind after a hard day's walking - and the jacuzzi bath was just what the doctor ordered. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable, great for resting tired limbs.

Overall we had a great stay at King Billy's, the welcome and service were both fantastic and we loved the house pets too. Breakfast lovely, especially the very varied fresh fruit salad and of course the sausages. Would definitely recommend!

Just a small recommendation for visitors to Settle (nothing to do with the accommodation!), if it's 'walking season' the places to eat get very busy so it's worth booking in advance if, like us, you're going to be doing a long walk and are likely to be too hungry to wait.

Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank not_afraid_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great guest house with an amazingly luxurious room at the top of the house. The most comfortable king size bed with lovely linen, huge flat screen tv next to a leather sofa, wet room and a double jacuzzi bath. The hosts were most helpful, especially when we had a slow puncture the next morning. Breakfast was good with some variety including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Specialbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Property: King William the Fourth Guest House
Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing