We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Oast Guest House

Oast Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oast Guest House
Ranked #13 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here while on the Way of the Roses cycle route. The room was comfortable and the en-suite was very tidy. We really liked the bowl of fruit in the bedroom and the tray of tea and home-made cake in the residents' room. The breakfast choice was really, really nice (even kippers!) and they were displaying an award for the breakfast menu for 2012. We were told that brekkie was available from 8-9am so we chose 8am, however, the blurb in the room said that brekkie was actually available from 7.30 which TBH would have suited us better.

The bed was really comfortable.

I was assured beforehand that "secure cycle storage" was available but it turned out to be just bikes chained up in the back yard with a plastic sheet over them. This, however, was the only minus point and the steeds were OK the next morning.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the breakfast selections on offer. In response to your comment about breakfast times there has to be a degree of flexibility in relation to the other needs of the Guest House.

In relation to the 'safe storage' of cycles I am slightly confused. Perhaps I am mistaken but I assumed that being attached to a great wall with a chain, out of view, was secure. I hadn't realised that in the depths of the urban metropolis of Settle there was a crime wave of missing bikes, [ although we do have some cyclists who wish that they would disappear overnight]. Some people in Settle don't even lock cars let alone bikes!!

As it happens we do have a small storage area inside the House [big enough for two bikes] but once again nothing was said and my telepathic powers had run out of batteries that day. Out of all the cyclists who have stayed with us you are the first that have 'worried about safe storage'.

Once again thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated - Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Oast Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the 20th August.
Plus points... Warm welcome from a very pleasant young man (presumably Martyn and Helen's son). Lovely room, very clean, bowl of fresh fruit provided, nice toiletries and fluffy towels in en-suite.
One of our group dropped out that day feeling ill and there was no problem about changing our room from a triple to a double. Helen did this without prompting by us, thus sparing us having to pay for a bed which wasn't used, which we thought very reasonable.
Breakfast was delicious, home made jam, cakes, smoothie etc, plenty of toast and butter, didn't mind sharing table with other guests as it's a good way to get chatting and to share stories with like minded people. Martyn was a good humoured and attentive host.
Our bikes were kept secure and covered at the rear of the property and the property itself is very well situated and easy to find by exausted cyclists.
And the negatives ...... A request for breakfast at 7.30 was declined even though the information sheet in the room says breakfast served from 7am.
We didn't want to trouble the owners for a tea tray to be brought up to our room as the facilities provided in the lounge were excellent. Only problem was there was no milk available at 7.15 in the morning when I went down to make a cup of tea. A polite request received a snappy reply "It's here, I'm bringing it!" I realise Helen was busy preparing breakfast but I was made to feel guilty for asking. There are better ways to respond to a guest's reasonable request.
Another reasonable request to fill a water carrier that wouldn't fit under the bathroom tap was complied with begrudgingly and then the last straw was when we asked where we could pick up the route for the 'Way of the Roses'. Helen's reply...? "Well you don't fill me with much confidence if you don't even know that!"
For information, it's signposted from the town centre, we missed it when we walked into town the night before as understandably we only had food and drink on our minds after a 50 mile cycle ride. For further information we managed the subsequent journey home without getting lost once. We left in fits of giggles feeling like naughty children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCHNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for spending time writing a review. It is much appreciated even when it is inaccurate in some respects.
We will take on board your comments about milk not being available at 7.15am. We mistakenly thought that guests would prefer fresh milk in the morning but following your comments we will ensure that the milk is either left out overnight or we buy some of those little cartons of artificial milk. Thank you for bringing this oversight to our attention.
We accept that the letter in the room says breakfast from 7am but there has to be some degree of flexibility if other guests are eating much later. We will review the letter to avoid future confusion. Helen has to be up an hour before the first breakfast and to be perfectly honest does not enjoy hanging around for long period of time between guest's breakfast. What you also fail to mention is that you didn't leave the guest house until after 9am so that even I think that 2 hours over breakfast would have been slightly excessive!!!
Your comments on the water carrier are taken on board we will endeavour to ensure that when the sink is full of dirty washing up water, as it was, we will place the water carrier under the tap. We had not realised [ we are not cyclists] that the water carriers needed to be wet through to cool you down - we thought they were only used as water containers, but you learn something new everyday.
Finally it is quite obvious that your sense of humour had been left elsewhere. I would have thought that having a map out instead of inside your bag would have been a better guide. The comment was a Joke! We usually find that cyclists do have a sense of humour but we obviously misjudged this cyclist and for that we can only apologise.
Following your review I have banished Helen to the cellar and banned her from any interaction with customers, as she is obviously on a different wavelength from the reviewer.
Sorry rescind the last comment as Helen liked the idea!!!!
Once again, Thank you for the review your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at the Oast Guest House with my partner, enjoying three days of walking. Very nice room with nice touches such as fruit in the bedroom and home made cakes and tea downstairs. White fluffy towels, really tasty breakfasts but most impressive of all was the helpfulness of the hosts, (Martyn & Helen); for instance Martyn took our suitcases to the station and Helen posted back something I had inadvertently left behind. Last but not least, tremendous value. Susan C

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Susan C Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated to know that you enjoyed the stay with us. Helen puts a lot of effort into the Guest House and it is nice when it is appreciated. It was very nice to meet you and if you are in the area again we look forward to seeing you.
Best wishes
Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We arrived after having cycled 35 miles in the rain from Morecambe. Although the oast house cannot be faulted for cleanliness, we found the owners hard to approach as they complied with requests rather than welcomed them. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I requested a tea tray, which was given but I felt with reluctance. We did not find the owners approachable, when we left to collect our bikes from the back yard, they did not even open the back door to say goodbye. I actually needed my water bottle filling but didn't bother to trouble them again. I think we did have maybe more needs than people arriving by car, but they are advertising on the Way of the Roses website, so should maybe consider that guests could arrive wet and cold and offering to dry coats and shoes would make a big difference to their stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilldoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for your 'constructive' review.
I would therefore like to reply in a 'constructive way'. Once again it would appear that some visitors to 3 star Bed and Breakfast establishments assume that a number of staff are employed and that owners are not entitled to do anything other than cater for their every whim immediately. They fail to appreciate that when arriving at 4or5 o'clock Helen may well have been up since 6.30am catering for the needs of previous guests and ensuring that their need for rooms are met. We do NOT employ anyone else.
We are well aware that cyclists completing the Way of the Roses may arrive in a cold, wet and tired state. We usually ensure that the rooms are ready for immediate occupation so that they may change and shower. However, following the constructive comments of the reviewer, we will insist that they give us their wet clothes and shoes immediately on arrival at the front door. Thank you for bringing this need to our attention. We will however continue to store, lock and cover the bikes at the back of the house and dry clothes when they ask.
We will obviously drop the needs of other guests and delay finishing our evening meal to provide a tea tray immediately even if the guest is on the way out of the door for their evening meal.
We had assumed that saying farewells at the front of the house, providing breakfasts for other guests, sorting bills and changing rooms was an important aspect of a bed and breakfast. However as you have brought it to our attention we will try to ensure that we make sure that the necessary water bottles have been filled by the cyclists and we will stand, handkerchief in hand, at the rear of the house, waving them on the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed at the Oast Guest House for three nights for a weekend of walking with the Ramblers. It's an excellent place to stay, there is a varied choice for breakfast and the bedrooms are exceptionally comfortable (fruit provided in the rooms as well, a nice touch). The tea and home made cakes in the afternoon after a day's walking were a highlight. One small quibble - we and some of the other ramblers found the bedrooms a bit cold (our window didn't close properly which didn't help) but a quick word with Martyn and the situation was improved on our return that day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Back again after my last stay in October 2011.If I had a choice out of a top hotel or the Oast guest house no contest it would be the Oast every time.Good clean accommodation good food terrific hosts Helens home made cakes and home made jams not to be missed.Make a booking you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: No swimming pool hit wrong key. I had room 1 again double excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melvyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Spent two nights at Oast Guest House whilst supporting two friends cycling the Pennine Bridleway. Front lounge of house is for use by guests and also serves as the breakfast room. Contains plenty of books and information about the area as well as coffee and tea making facilities accompanied by cake. Bedroom was tidy and had an en-suite bathroom and shower which unfortunately delivered water in any direction other than through the shower head. Hot tap on basin didn't work properly and owner didn't address either problem despite being informed. Good breakfast was delivered from 8am. Owner stored bikes in a secure place which was appreciated and dried wet-kit, however, got the impression that other small requests were not welcome although they were met. Two other guests had the same impression. Rating would have been higher if owner had addressed water issues and tried a bit harder to please the clients.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Now being able to respond to the reviews I feel that this review deserves a response. Once again thank you for spending the time to review the Oast Guest House, all reviews are appreciated irrespective of the accuracy of them. Initially the date of the 24th confused me due to the fact that you actually stayed with us on the weekend and your subsequent destruction of the basin tap had to be temporarily repaired because unfortunately, in Settle, plumbers tend not to work at weekends. When you informed me of the problem with the shower as soon as you left for the day a new hose was fitted and that subsequently worked - no further problems encountered. However, in your review you fail to mention this or maybe you didn't use the shower again. You did however manage to break the basin tap again. Never fear though a plumber was available after you left to replace the said tap.
Another inaccuracy is that Cooked breakfasts are served from 7am and before that a cold breakfast is available and as another comment maybe your other requests were asked at inconvenient times or were just inappropriate to be expected from a Bed and Breakfast.
Once again thank your for your review and your constructive comments have been taken on board.
regards
Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Settle hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#17 of 22 in Settle
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oast Guest House

Address: 5 Penyghent View, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing