We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent two nights at The Lion at Settle. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. Fresh milk for tea/coffee was a nice touch. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room décor was okay but could be doing with a little updating - the room was very clean though. We ate both nights in the restaurant - the food was fantastic! Breakfasts were great too with a huge choice on offer, catering for every need. All in all we enjoyed our time in Settle and would love to go back and stay again.

Room Tip: If staying through the week, I'd ask for a room at the back. Very peaceful on Sunday morning but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grovekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

What a great review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you come back and stay with us again. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived late on Thursday evening, minimum fuss at reception as staff knew we wanted to eat, whilst we chose supper from the menu our bags were taken to the bedroom - great service which was to be consistent throughout our three night stay.
The food here whilst is good and freshly cooked.
The restaurant is friendly and well managed, this culture is prevalent throughout the hotel and it is what makes a stay here so enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Lion and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hayley Macce - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked on the strength of reviews, and because it was dog friendly, we wanted to test a night away with our Jack Russell Terrorist. Great location,yes there isnt any on site parking,but its only 2 quid to park overnight in a pay and display a minutes walk away. Very friendly staff,fabulous food, nice little touches such as fresh milk in a little thermos for coffee/ tea in the room. Ok, we probs didnt have the best room because we did have the dog, it was fine for 1 night, maybe not for longer. We loved the log fires, so welcoming on a getting chilly afternoon, comfy chairs, plenty of good wines on offer, and im told the beer was excellent,enough was drunk to provide a quality tested review. All told, i think we made a great choice. If you go, im sorry about the knitting, it sort of didnt turn out very well, but i tried. You'll see what i mean!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armada79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased you had a go at knitting! Thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night late July. The hotel is right in the middle of Settle, so really convenient for all the shops, sights etc. But the downside to that, because Settle is an old town, it was laid put before cars were even thought of, so there's no parking, which was a bit of a shock. We did eventually find somewhere a few streets away, where we assumed the car would be safe, but on returning next morning, we'd obviously irritated someone, because two of my tyres had been let down. Anyway, the hotel itself is nice enough, though the bar gets very busy and the noise from the guests went on quite a long time after closing, outside the front door, but we were so tired it hardly bothered us. Nice comfortable bed and a good nights sleep, lovely breakfast in the morning and the manager was very friendly and apologetic for the lack of parking, so all in all we can't really complain.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy at closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We did used to have parking but we replaced the parking with our courtyard so guests have some where to sit outside, especially in the Summer. I am very sorry your tyres got let down. We do give car parking information when guests check in, however, by the sound of things you were not informed and I apologise for that. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay here.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 30/9/13 - The Lion is in a good location in Settle with plenty of cafes and shops within an easy walk. Your very close to the train station and road links to get into the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and to Leeds & Carlise

The Hotel/Pub has lovely friendly staff, the bedrooms were comfortable and the food was great!

There was plenty of choice for Breakfast - a cold table with cereals, fresh fruit & juices - a 'help yourself' toast area, and a menu of cooked options.

We had dinner in the Lion every night as the first nights meal was excellent - would totally recommend the Steak & Ale Pudding!! Make sure your hungry as it was HUGE!!

The only negatives and recommendations I would make, would be to have bigger guest towels, the bedroom TV wasn't great and a couple of big comfy sofas around the fire would be nice to sit and chill with a book & a glass of wine :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel on the main road, which was a bit noisy in the morning - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneywatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for finding the time to leave us feedback. I am glad you found your room to be comfortable and your stay was enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had an evening meal here, having eaten at the Lion last year when we were staying in the area. Once again we found the food lovely; well cooked, delicious and plenty of it. Service was good and the staff were charming. Good to find such a good eatery that is dog-friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LindaS3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Many thanks for such good feedback. I am glad you chose to return for a meal here and hope you will return once again!

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am not going for glamourous and it isn't quite boutique but it is comfortable and unpretentious with very welcoming, courteous staff. The room was pleasantly furnished and decorated with a very comfortable bed, perhaps a bit tight for space but fine for a weekend. Lovely quality tea, coffee and smellies. .
The bar was busy serving a super selection of beers. The restaurant was popular but the noise did not carry. The breakfast, which was excellent and generous, was served in the restaurant.
It's right in the middle of Settle,a lovely market town, and on the edge of the dales with interesting places like Ingleton and Kirkby Lonsdale only a short distance away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetobeonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your great comments, I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will be back to stay with us again! Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
321 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: $104 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing