We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary at the lion in settle. We had a great stay and would recommend the charming inn. The hotel was very welcoming and fresh milk on arrival was a nice touch. The room was nice and clean and tidy. The inn is situated in settle town centre And there are lots of great country walks to take with plenty of caves and waterfalls to see. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the evening and the food was superb and reasonably priced. All in all we had a great wedding anniversary and this was mainly due to the lion at settle. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for such great comments! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and even more pleased you had a great wedding anniversary here with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    159
    39
    22
    11
See reviews for
77
201
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having had a lovely lunch 3days prior to today, we decided to return-what a mistake !! We ordered pate and cold platter, it took 50mins to produce. With four more diners in restaurant, each table complainig about long wait for food, a few people in courtyard, they weren't exactly busy. Food arrived portions not as good , not as much, very disappointing having had exactly the same 3 days earlier, I spoke to the duty manager, who said they had a number of checks on, what! Four in dining room and handful in courtyard, I asked her what would have happened if more diners
had been eating, reply- they would have stepped up to the mark!!!! What does that say about The Golden Lion and management. Sorry doesn't do it for me, two cold plates 50mins- what do you think? Never order hot meal, you would need overnight stay!
Other than sorry we were not offered anything! Stay away, plenty of places to eat in Settle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise for the long wait you had. We did have more than a few diners in our courtyard, but I'm sorry you had to wait 50 minutes for your meals. Maybe you will decide to give us another chance in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in June.

My room was a lovely large double with a very large bathroom. The room was very clean and the towels and bed linen were very good quality. There was a generous tea tray provided which was topped up every day. The staff were all very friendly.

Breakfast was good although during my trip the cooked breakfasts were taking a very long time to arrive after being ordered, 45 minutes on my last morning.

I ate in the restaurant one evening and the food portions were generous and the food was very tasty.

The Lion is only about a 5 minute walk from the train station, is in the centre of Settle and opposite a bank with a cash machine.

One minor complaint is the way that hotels now seem to keep winter weight duvets on the beds all year round which I find irritating, especially when there isn't a sheet as well to give one the option of taking the duvet off completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank L_Braybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely look into seeing what we can do about the duvet & sheet situations on the beds. I agree the duvets are more suited for winter season.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion at Settle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Booked into the Lion for 2 nights and requested a quiet room - needed to recharge our batteries! However, when we checked in, the room was at the front overlooking the main road and at the very top of the stairs just inside the first floor corridor - far from quiet. We did ask to be moved but were told it was not possible until the second evening when they would move us to a better room at the back of the hotel. We just got on with it and booked a table near the front window for dinner at 7.30. We had a good afternoon out, got back and decided to have a rest before dinner. All hell then broke out - immediately outside our room at 6pm the road was cut off and major road works started with pneumatic drills hammers and stihl saws - absolutely horrendous, not quiet and not what we wanted. We went to reception to complain and it was explained that the work would stop at 10pm. We decided we couldn't put up with this or eat in the restaurant and we would have to leave and even travel back home. However, the young manager contacted the Lion's sister hotel the Lister Arms at Malham and we went there, not knowing what to expect and not really wanting to drive at 7.30 in the evening. However, it was a solution.
The Lion's downstairs, public areas are good but the bedroom we were allocated on arrival was shabby and dated. The room was very hot and the window only opened a few inches. The en suite was rather smelly as the toilet was operated by a macerator - again very noisy.
We were pleased we moved and must compliment the staff on their problem solving. Our break turned out well against the odds. Our major complaint was that we wanted quiet and were not told about the road works which I believe are going on for a month.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swissball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise for no one mentioning the road works to you on your arrival at the Lion. However I am glad we could solve this problem by getting you a room up at The Lister Arms.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion at Settle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, food, staff, standard of room were all excellent. We were travelling on holidays with our dog. It was so nice to see how he was genuinely made to feel welcome too. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lion. Thank you for such great comments.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion at Settle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with a group of friends on our annual walking weekend. Excellent service at the bar and for the evening meals. And the food quality and volume were excellent. Stayed in room 15 which had no traffic noise - colleagues in the front rooms heard plenty of noise most of the night Including from the disco opposite.
Room 15 had a brilliant shower, 2 double beds, and plenty of storage room. The tea / coffee were excellent and bottles of water a nice touch.
Breakfast for 10 of us was chaotic both days - the first day took over an hour from start to finish, day 2 about 45 minutes. And what we ordered, and what appeared in some cases bore no resemblance! We did a bit of swapping on day 1 and put up with it. On the 2nd day the same. But a couple of meals were sent back for 'correction'. Quality of the food again couldn't be faulted.
Nice hotel, good walking base, accomodating staff , no car park .

Room Tip: Pick a rear room during weekends - lots of street / road noise on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan3spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, The Lion at Settle at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the food to be excellent quality. I apologise for the time you had to wait for your breakfast. There is no excuse for you waiting over an hour except we do cook everything from fresh, but again I apologise for your wait and I will look into that.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Firstly the positives about this hotel. The staff were great and very welcoming. Our evening waiter in the restaurant couldn't do enough for us and was very attentive, giving us an efficient and personal service. The locally sourced food on the menu was excellent, cooked to perfection and reasonably priced - as was the wine. I had the beer battered fish and chips and my husband the lamb - both superb.The restaurant area is large and rustic but with a cosy ambience - including the nearby roaring fire in the bar area which we enjoyed. Our room was small but clean with a very comfortable (and large) bed and had everything we needed - the hospitality tray had some nice touches. Food selection at breakfast was good and plentiful.

What we didn't like: Our room (number 11) was at the front of the hotel on the main road, and even with the window closed was noisy from the traffic below. This wasn't as bad as having to listen to next door's TV (and it wasn't on very loud) as well as their very noisy extractor fan from around 10.00 p.m. to midnight when we were trying to sleep, but again not the occupants fault. When asked about our stay at checkout the following morning I did comment on this and was told by the member of staff 'there was nothing they could do because it is a listed building' and did apologise. I've noticed that another reviewer mentioned the same issue from the same room!

Although the bathroom was clean and modern, a bit more storage space would have been helpful. The shower cubicle was very small, and the shower itself was just above a trickle!

The flatscreen TV on the wall was about 14" so not really conducive to both of us seeing very much from the only viewing point on the bed, even though there was space on the wall to have a much larger one!

Having had really good service in the restaurant for our evening meal, this completely turned around at breakfast. After we had eaten our cereal and fruit salad we had to wait a further 20 minutes for our cooked breakfast to be served. The waitress duly apologised for the delay saying that the chef had to 'cook more bacon and sausages'.............but guests at our neighbouring table had just as long a wait as we had (even after we had been served), perhaps longer - which was a shame.

Overall I would love to stay here again if the noise issue could be sorted as I can put up with the other things - it really is a lovely country hotel which could be great if this issue is resolved and I could rate it 5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarboroughgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, The Lion at Settle at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Feedback like this helps us out a lot as we can work on these improvements to make our guests, such as yourself enjoy their stay a lot more. We will get the issues looked at by maintenance straight away. Unfortunately we would love to be able to do something to our building to cut out the traffic noise but unfortunately as mentioned we are a listed building and there are limits on what we can do, all I can do is apologise. Maybe next time if you stay with us again just mention about having a room at the back of the building.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
13.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#15 of 20 in Settle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing