We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive staff and very welcoming atmosphere”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very attentive staff and very welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Eleven of us have just stayed at The Lion for the weekend. The staff were very attentive, the food (breakfasts, lunches and dinners) was excellent and the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was warm (aided by log fires), pleasant, relaxing and welcoming. The rooms were clean and furnished to a high standard, all with a shower and some with a bath too. It was a lovely touch to be given real milk rather than cartons without having to ask for it. Tea tastes so much better like that! We look forward to our next stay there in September.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    171
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
85
216
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As a party of seven, very wet and very cold lady cyclists appeared on the doorstep of The Lion, we were met by the wonderful sight of not one but three roaring fires! I had booked us in for one night as we were doing a round trip of the dales. Picking the worst weather......Not only did we have a safe dry place to put our bikes, but there was a drying room for all our wet cycle gear, BLISS.We had a lovely meal and our rooms were great. The staff really couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.A special thank you to the young lady who upgraded me to my own room from a sofa bed in the triple room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen209973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived on 8th March on a very cold afternoon. We were met at reception with a lovely welcome from a very polite staff member.

She found our booking which we had altered prior to our visit; we were pleased that the changes had been made.
We were given the keys to Room 7 which is a Character Room and is very central to the main stair case, the member of staff asked if we wanted to be shown where the room was. We said yes but it would have not been hard to find anyway, she showed us all the facilities in the room and explained the dining times for breakfast.
The room was very well appointed and had a large King Size bed – the room is very big and situated at the back of the hotel away from the road, overlooking the court yard. The ensuite bathroom was very clean and came with the usual toiletries anybody should want. The bath was larger than normal and what looked like a mediocre electric shower was very deceiving with lots of power and enough water to have a very refreshing shower.
There was a lovely writing desk to one end, a very large wardrobe in the corner and another desk on the side together with bedside cabinets and individual lamps you felt at home and relaxed. There was not a full length mirror in the room and maybe one could be fitted inside the wardrobe ?

We had booked dinner for 8.30pm and had a refreshing pint of Thwaites Real Ale before we sat down. The speed of service was very quick and the food was fresh. The manager answered any queries or questions we had with the food.
The wine was very nice and competitively priced.
Breakfast in the morning was very good indeed and nothing was too much trouble
All in all the stay was very good and we will return as soon as possible

Thanks to Paul and all his dedicated staff.

Room Tip: Pick a Character room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undertheoaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a one night stay and now we wished we booked for longer. The hotel was lovely, the decor was tasteful and well maintained. The staff where very heplful(they posted my wife her trousers she'd inadvertently left in the drawer at no extra cost), very professional and very accommodating. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, and it was lovely, though I must warn you about the steak and ale pudding, there is so much gorgeous meat you may want to share one between two if you have small appetites, it was humungous!
The hotel doesn't have any parking, but the Ashfield Car Park is 3 minutes walk away and if you get there after 4pm it will cost you the princely sum of £2 to stay there until 10am the following morning, cant be had at that.
The location is also spot on, right in the middle of this lovely little town, plenty of other restaurants and eateries to choose from, but you'll not go far wrong if you eat and drink in this hotel.
Overall it is well worth the 5 stars, no faults from me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quba_libra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had visited this pub/hotel last year and decided to go back and stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were comfortable, warm and good sized bathrooms. TV was oddly positioned on the wall to the side of the bed and the plumbing noises from 5.30 am were a bit challenging, but but apart from that a very nice room.

This place is full of old fashioned charm and friendliness, a roaring log fire in the bar and good selection of beers. Breakfast was good, croissants and sausages were fab. Sadly the dinner at night wasn't so good with only one of our party of 4 having an enjoyable meal. I'd definitely stay again - but if I eat there again, I'll have the sausages, not the hotpot or the steak pudding. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Lion at Settle gets the big things right (i.e. stylish environment and excellent staff) but also gets the little things right too (e.g. roaring open fires, fresh milk and decent-sized cups/mugs in the rooms, filling up your flask for free before you went out on a walk...)
Only minor downside was that the WiFi range doesn't extend to the bedrooms so you have to use it in the restaurant or bar areas.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the main route through Settle so the rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel this weekend and had a great stay. We travelled as a family of four, two adults and two children 8 and 5. On arrival the hotel was very welcoming and had a gorgeous open fire burning as we wlked in out of the cold and snow.

The receptionist showed us to our family room straight away, bringing us fresh milk in a flask to add to outr collection of fresh coffee and Yorkshire Tea in our room.

The room was a good size for a family. Large double bed and a double sofa bed for the kids.

We ate our evening meal in the restaurant in the evening. Good selection of hearty meals (great for after a days walking) and a good childrens menu. This was excellent and with the benefit of attentive waitresses and a flexible kitchen enhanced our stay.

The breakfast was great. Full Yorkshire plus, cereals, fruit, yoghurts and breads. This set us all up for a walk up Pen-y-Ghent and you can also fill your flasks which is a great bonus.

All in all a good small hotel. Welcoiming for families, good selection of local beers at the bar.

Recommended for a stay if you are visiting Yorkshire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
307 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing