We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed”
Review of Talbot Arms

Talbot Arms
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just what was needed”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

A group of us arrived in Settle tired, wet and hungry after walking 20 miles on a wet and windy day. The Talbot was a couple of doors away from our B & B and didn't look very impressive from the outside but inside was a different matter.

A pleasant ambience, a good selection of excellent real ales and a reasonably wide menu of standard pub stuff and one or two unusual items soon made us feel better. Quality was very good and prices reasonable.

What really made the evening enjoyable was the friendly and efficient service from the young staff. Well worth a return visit.



Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FellwalkerCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    140
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Warm friendly welcome and good decor. Choice of locally and regionally brewed beers. Food beautifully presented and generous portions.

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A quick pint”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very welcoming and warm atmosphere - we just popped in for a pint - it was quite busy - but we managed to get a seat and enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dramaqueen1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpected find in the Yorkshire Dales”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We chanced upon this pub while looking for a dog-friendly lunch venue while on a short break. From the outside the Talbot Arms looked very ordinary but the 'dogs & children welcome' sign hooked us.

It was quite busy for an early January midweek lunchtime and the crowds just kept on arriving. Decoratively, the bar is best described as unspoilt, which we found refreshing. The range of beers was excellent, and our choices were very acceptable. The menu was sufficiently extensive but with a range of specials. We chose snacks - a cheese & chutney melt (grilled on toast) and a black pudding & bacon with mustard, both served on a bed of leaves. Both were well prepared and attractive. Prices were reasonable. Judging by the other food being taken to table the quality is spot-on - there certainly seemed to be lots of satisfied punters.

The exclusively young, male staff were excellent: knowledgable, enthusiastic and polite.

This pub deserves to do very well!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 316Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice friendly warm welcome into this lovely Freehouse, but am really sorry to say that the local real ale was under-conditioned and was left. However, lovely pub, clean toilets and LOT'S of Diners - and I noted that EVER plate returned EMPTY. Food looked and smelled delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank monkeytownred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talbot Arms also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Talbot Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing