We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-do”
Review of Ingleborough

Ingleborough
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A must-do”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Climbed Ingleborough yesterday from Clapham, taking a circular route of 10 miles. The ascent was very picturesque passing Ingleborough Cave, Trow Gill and Gaping Gill and the chosen decent was down the bridleway to Ingleton, cutting over to Slatenber, then walking along the road back to Clapham.
Unfortunately the low cloud ruined any decent views from the summit but I'll be back to climb the remaining 'Three Peaks' so I'm sure I can make up for the views on my return.
The climb is completely achieveable for anyone with a basic level of fitness. Its not over strenuous but it is quite long.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“worth a walk up”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

likes - the views and exhilirating energy and sense of achievement.
disliked - wouldnt do it in a bad weather day, as it would have spoiled the likes

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thee_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great walk with amazing views.
There are two routes I take up Ingleborough.
Firstly as you drive out of Ingleton towards Ingleborough there is a path/road on the right. If you walk up here it is a slow steady walk to the top taking around 1 hour 30 if you take your time.
Another route takes you a few miles out of Ingleton. You pass the pub on the right then park up a few hundred yards down the road. The first section of the walk is quite flat followed by a very steep almost climb up to the top. This is quite a quick way up but not great if your not too steady or have small children or dogs, my dog loves it but shes good at climbing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corinth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"A mountain to climb!"”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I made two attempts before finally climbing to the summit of Inglebrough mountain and it was true worth the experience. My first attempt was through the fields cutting across the farm lands with with sheep and cattle between ingleton and clapham. I enjoyed the undulating farmland but it was getting dark when I reached the direct track from ingleton, a mile to the mountain. so i returned to ingleton and did climb the following day from chapel le dale. The summit was extremely windy and cold but it was thrilling to be there. Certainly make sure you have enough protective clothing to keep you warm and gloves for your hand.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Worth the climb!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not really much to say except this is one of the three peaks. Several routes up and back and you are bound to find fellow walkers on your way or at the top.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank philstephenrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleborough also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Ingleborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing