We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Settle Playbarn - CLOSED

Settle Playbarn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a small family owned and managed indoor soft play centre for children in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales town of Settle. Children can have great full scrambling, climbing, swinging and sliding while the adults can relax in the comfortable seating area and cafe. We pride ourselves on healthy homemade food and cakes and make a great coffee. We run many activities each week and most of these are included in the normal entry price-please check the website for more details. Thank You Rob, Sally-Anne and our two little girls.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having experienced some of the enormous soft play centres, where the adult area is like a school canteen (with worse food!) and the soft play area is so big you can't leave young children without losing them, I am so glad Settle Play barn is on our doorstep.
The staff are fantastic, they get to know their customers - both parents and kids- and really care about them. The soft play itself is a perfect size - big enough for kids to have a really good runaround, but small enough that you can sit and relax in the seating area and still keep an eye on them.
And to top it off, the food is lovely. A wide choice for kids. And for parents a great choice too from things like freshly cooked paninis and homemade soups. And homemade cakes to die for! Well worth a visit for the whole family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshiresybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobABrown, Owner at Settle Playbarn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank You for your lovely review, we are very touched by your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Thanks Rob and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    7
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nanny of 4 and they all love it!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've been taking the kids here for months now and they are always excited to go. The food is excellent both for the adults and children- paninis, jacket potatoes, soup, hot meals, even dinosaur shaped sandwiches! It is quite a small, low-key place but this is a plus as I can keep an eye on them all easily. There's also a walkway right round the edge of the play area and I don't feel awkward when I get dragged in there myself as quite a few adults are often in there too! The singing and craft sessions are brilliant and nana pat is an inspiration, as are all the staff who are always very helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobABrown, Owner at Settle Playbarn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comment and are really pleased that all the children have a great time when they visit our place. Nana Pat was very touched when we showed her your review.
Thank You Rob and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent play centre for the little ones!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We've been to the playbarn quite a few times now, and having experienced a most indoor play centres in the Skipton/Keighley/Harrogate area (they are a saving grace on wet days) we love this one for the fab food, dinosaur shaped sandwiches and the fact that it's a bit smaller than some. This is really helpful, especially if you have toddlers and don't want to take them to the larger places on weekends or in the holidays when they're likely to be mown down by the older children!
It's always impeccably clean, the parent's area is comfortable (though can get a bit tight if it's really busy), and the extra sessions, particularly Nana Pat's craft time on a Wednesday (I think!) are excellent. The playframe is smaller than some, but that's actually very nice as it means it's easier to keep track of where the children are, and there's nothing too hard or scary for them to master, so you don't feel like you have to follow them all the way around!
Love the look of the party tent, it's definately on our list for next year's birthday party venue, and finally, it's really nice to have the owners on site most of the time rather than 'managing' from afar, it sets the tone as this is a fantastic, family run, well maintained playbarn, perfect for the under 5's!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenny_rocks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobABrown, Owner at Settle Playbarn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments, we work very hard to ensure the place is a great place for children and adults and your kind words are very much apprieciated.
Thank You Rob and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The grandson liked it (and so did his parents)”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We took our grandson (aged 2.5) there during his recent visit. Unfortunately on arrival we were told it was full, so set off to the local park. We'd gone about 50 yards when one of the staff came running after us to say that as a couple of children were just leaving there was room after all - a good touch of customer-care !
Inside, (apart from the noise of a score of happily playing children, which comes as a shock as I'd forgotten - it's 30 years since mine were that age . . . ) it was very good. There was a wide range of activity available, and good, caring, involved staff. We also particularly appreciated the tea / coffee area. The grandson, having enjoyed himself, says he would be very happy to go back on his next visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alanyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobABrown, Owner at Settle Playbarn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for you lovely comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed our place. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Thank You Rob and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We started going here about a month ago.. we now go at least once a week and even have been 3 times in a week.. The price is right the drinks are hot and the food is amazingly priced for good value. Both my children love it here and even went to their Halloween party on the 30th Oct. The owners have worked hard to build this business and you can see how hard they work when you arrive and the palce can be full.
Well done and a true asset to settle businesses... Wish we had something this good in ingleton

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CooperUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobABrown, Owner at Settle Playbarn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank You for your lovely comments. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Best regards Rob and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settle Playbarn also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing