We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for”

Settle Carlisle Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.21*
and up
The Yorkshire Dales Tour from Windermere
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Settle-Carlisle Railway is one of the world's great rail journeys. It carves its way through the magnificent landscape of the Yorkshire Dales and then descends to Cumbria's lush green Eden Valley with its views of the Pennines and Lakeland Fells. A seven day a week service of modern diesel sprinter units gives travellers plenty of choice of when to travel, and the opportunity to board and leave the train at many of the beautifully preserved stations along the route. Customers can also expect a refreshment trolley service on many of the trains.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I have just travelled on the Settle to Carlisle Railway the views from Settle as far as Appleby were spectacular, from there to Carlisle were less so but still enjoyable. I booked the train travel in advance and saved a good percentage of the normal cost of the fare but beware if you make a mistake as to the journey times once paid for you cannot change the times or obtain a refund so make sure all the details you enter when booking are what you want

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinDW49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    130
    36
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scenic railway journey .”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Settle to Carlisle Railway is justifiably regarded as the most scenic line in the whole of England . I have travelled on this stretch of line many times over the years and it never fails to impress me . The scenery is stunning , ranging from high mountains such as the Three Peaks and Mallerstang Common to the green fields of the Eden Valley . If you haven't been on this stretch of line in the past ,I would urge you to give it a go . If possible choose a day when there is some sunshine as it will greatly enhance the beauty of the countryside . Don't forget to take your camera to take photos on your journey , especially when crossing the famous Ribblehead Viaduct . My journey today was enhanced by the presence of catering facilities on the train , and the person who served me was very polite and friendly . My guess is that once you have made a journey on this railway line you will want to go back again . You might even want to stay in the area for a few days . If this is the case , then you might want to consider staying in self - catering accomodation , which is situated on a few of the stations , and which is furnished to a very high standard . Happy travelling .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Trip to Remember”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I made the round trip on the Settle/Carlisle railway and had a memorable day out. We left Bingley at 9.06 and arrived in Carlisle at 11.35 after seeing some breathtaking scenery along the way.

The journey took in places that we have all possibly heard about but never actually visited before, Dent-Kirby Lonsdale to name but two. Along the journey there was a volunteer who walked the train selling brochures about the railway and pointing out some of the points of interest.

A coffee service was also available on both legs of the journey which added to our enjoyment and they sold hot and cold drinks, wines etc with a good choice of Cakes and sweets.

Carlisle was a very nice city, very clean and well presented with some nice shops and places of interest.

The cost for the return journey cost £11 each with our Seniors pass and this offer lasted until 16th February 2014.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Settle to Carlisle railway”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited in october, when the weather wasn't great, however the visit was definitely worth it. The railway is part of a main route, and you can hop on before settle.
We got on at skipton.

The volunteers on the settle-carlisle route help ease the journey with their drinks service, witty repartee and in-depth knowledge of the local history.
I missed the tour guide on the way back, it's a shame it wasn't both ways!

It is well worth a trip across Ribblehead,keep an eye out for all the unique things along the line, from stories of snow to trials and tribulations... I won't spoil the tour guide's job!
My advice, do it whenever you have time!

We topped off our train journey with a jaunt around Carlisle, which was quiet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hellskels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery across the wilds of Northern England”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

As one of the original campaigners to save the line when it was threatened with closure in 1984, I am delighted to say it is thriving today and is one of the most impressive train journeys in the UK, if not the world ,with most of the original architecture/stations etc., still in tact - it was a tremendous feat of Victorian engineering to a very high spec. thus enabling us to enjoy its delights some 138 years after it's opening. Take a trip - you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settle Carlisle Railway also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Settle Carlisle Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing